Blake Shelton Comes Out on Top With 2018 CMT Video of the Year Award

Blake Shelton took home the biggest award of the night when they won the trophy for Video of the Year for the “I’ll Name the Dogs” video at the 2018 CMT Music Awards.

Keith Urban introduced the award with great acclaim, before presenting the trophy to Shelton. On his way up to the microphone, the Oklahoma native embraced one of his record label executives and even hugged fellow nominee Brett Young. Shelton and Urban also shared some affection and a quick moment of conversation before Shelton paid tribute to the up-and-comers in the industry.

“Thank you Keith Urban. I said all the stuff I thought I was gonna have to say last time. So all I can say is, I can’t believe I’ve been doing this for 18 years–I have been making records. Lucky enough that you guys have accepted them and country radio has played them. CMT has played my videos, and it’s been a crazy ride. I gotta say it’s so cool to sit up here tonight with this new generation of country artists that are coming up, and I may be one of the last old guys that may be excited about this new generation coming up,” Shelton told the crowd.

Shelton released a brand new album recently called Texoma Shore, which sent out “I’ll Name the Dogs” and his latest track, “I Lived It.”

The category was stacked with great videos from huge artists like Bebe Rexha and Florida Georgia Line with “Meant To Be,” Young with “Mercy,” Brothers Osborne with “It Ain’t My Fault,” Carrie Underwood and Ludacris with “The Champion,” Dan + Shay with “Tequila,” Jason Aldean with “You Make It Easy,” Justin Timberlake and Chris Stapleton with “Say Something,” Kane Brown with Lauren Alaina on “What Ifs,” Kelsea Ballerini with “Legends,” Luke Combs with “When It Rains It Pours” and Thomas Rhett with “Marry Me”.

The 2018 CMT Music Awards were hosted by Little Big Town, and aired live from the Bridgestone Arena in downtown Nashville.

Want to listen to the winners and nominees from tonight’s ceremony? Check out our CMA Fest playlist below and click to subscribe!