Jake Owen Scores Sixth No. 1 Single with ‘American Country Love Song’

Jake Owen is saying goodbye to summer with a smile on his face as his single, “American Country Love Song,” reached the No. 1 slot on the charts this week.

The song, which was written by Ross Copperman, Ashley Gorley and Jaren Johnston, is a huge feat for the country singer by marking his sixth-ever No. 1 single on country radio through Billboard and Mediabase. The track also happened to be Owen’s debut single of his recently released album, American Love, and distinguished the platform Owen was going for through his new music.

“We debuted ‘American Country Love Song’ in the spring. People seemed to genuinely like it when we put it out and quite honestly, I was relieved to receive the positive feedback from everybody. Our ‘Love Bus’ Road Trip was the beginning of the journey with this song and the music video. It really was a life changing time for me. Now, to see this song go all the way to No. 1 this week is just a great way to end the summer. Let’s raise a glass,” said Owen about the big news.

Owen also gave a huge shoutout to his record label for all of the support they’ve given him throughout the past few months, as well as the behind-the-scenes team that helped make this success possible.

“I have a lot of people to thank who worked so hard to get ‘American Country Love Song’ to the top of the charts. I’m pumped for everyone involved; my Sony Nashville team, my kick-ass RCA promotion staff, led by Keith Gale who is a true friend and the best in the business. I’m stoked for the songwriters Jaren Johnston, Ashley Gorley and Ross Copperman. I have to thank my friends at country radio for not only supporting this single but for supporting me all the years that I’ve been doing this,” he said.

In celebration of his No. 1 hit as well as in coordination with the holiday weekend, Owen spent his days off on his boat wake surfing in Nashville. He’ll take his single to perform on Jimmy Kimmel Live! on Wednesday, September 21 and play some other tracks off his album as well.