Alex Hall and Vince Gill Blend Voices for ‘Never Seen the World’

Check out this standout from his upcoming 'Six Strings' EP.

Written by Chris Parton
Alex Hall and Vince Gill Blend Voices for ‘Never Seen the World’
Alex Hall; Photo credit: Robert Chavers

Newcomer Alex Hall highlights his fleet-fingered guitar playing on his upcoming EP debut, and he’s previewing the star-studded project with a special track. It features a guest appearance by fellow guitar junkie Vince Gill, and it’s called “Never Seen the World.”

Full of gratitude for where he’s at, and proclaiming once and for all that love changes everything, the patient track is a relaxing highlight of Hall’s still-forming career. With a plaintive vocal and a comforting-country sound, he and Gill linger on full bodied harmony as they blend their voices, while tender guitar licks color in a romantic landscape. The thoughtful track is a perfect match for Gill’s iconic style, and Hall says working with the country giant was an unbelievable experience.

“It was a dream come true to hear Vince Gill, THE Vince Gill, sing on ‘Never Seen the World’ — a song that already means so much to me,” Hall says. “Vince’s voice is straight from heaven. I’m so honored to have him be a part of this song.”

“Why don’t we just stay a while and waste a little time / Listen to the radio and hold each other tight / Talk about whatever everything under the moon / I’ve never seen the world, the way I see it with you,” goes the gorgeous chorus, sung by both Hall and Gill.

“Never Seen the World” is part of Hall’s debut EP Six Strings, which features guitar and vocal collaborations with Gill, Brad Paisley, John Osborne (of Brothers Osborne), Tenille Townes, Kassi Ashton and Brad Tursi (of Old Dominion). The set was co-produced by Hall, Pete Good and AJ Babcock, and is set to arrive on February 5. He earlier teased the project by dropping “Jealous Love” (featuring Osborne) last month.

“It’s such an honor to play and sing alongside my friends and heroes on the Six Strings EP,” Hall explains. “I’m so proud of this body of music, and I can’t wait for the world to hear it!”

Hall spent 2019 touring with another country legend — Tanya Tucker — and has previously released “Half Past You” and “Whiskey On The Table.” 

Alex Hall’s Six Strings Track Listing:

  1. Other End Of The Phone (feat. Brad Tursi of Old Dominion)
  2. Heart Shut (feat. Tenille Townes)
  3. Jealous Love (feat. John Osborne)
  4. Never Seen The World (feat. Vince Gill)
  5. Last One To Leave (feat. Brad Paisley)
  6. Runs In The Family (feat. Kassi Ashton)