Caleb Lee Hutchinson Releases Debut Self-Titled EP

The American Idol runner-up launches new music!

Written by Jeremy Chua
Caleb Lee Hutchinson Releases Debut Self-Titled EP
Caleb Lee Hutchinson; Photo courtesy of Forte/Red Light Management

Rising country singer/songwriter and American Idol runner-up Caleb Lee Hutchinson has released his debut self-titled EP. The six-track collection is produced by GRAMMY-winning record artist Kristian Bush of Sugarland, who has also produced Lindsay Ell’s debut album The Project.

On his EP, Hutchinson marries his classic country baritone with a contemporary production that makes it commercially viable project, all while staying true to his country roots. Lead single “Belle of the Bar,” written by Adam Prius, Brinley Addington and Michael Walker, paints the picture of a typical love at first sight scene in a bar, and the Post Malone cover of “Better Now” showcases Hutchinson’s ability to truly make a song his own.

“Steering Wheel Prayers” (Andrew Albert, William Bollington, Connie Rae Harrington) is another highlight track on the self-titled release. On this poignant song, Hutchinson sings pensively about a persona knocked down by the struggles of life and clinging on to God, a lingering hope and his steering wheel for dear life.

It is also worth noting that the 20-year-old cut a Maren Morris, Ryan Hurd and Andrew Dorff-penned song, “Good As You Think.” Fans of Hurd right from the get-go may remember this song (originally titled “As Good As You Think I Am”) as one of the very first tunes that launched him earlier in 2015. Did Hutchinson do a good job on his rendition of it? Undoubtedly so, we’d say.

With the new EP being his first long-form release since American Idol in 2018, Hutchinson is excited to, in a way, reintroduce himself to fans and the country music audience. “…Now I really get to do stuff that I believe in, so that’s a cool opportunity for them to meet the new me.”

Track list

  1. Good As You Think I Am
  2. Belle Of The Bar
  3. Steering Wheel Prayers
  4. Left of Me
  5. If I Ever Will
  6. Better Now (Cover)