Carrie Underwood Leads Country Cast of ‘Breakthrough’ Soundtrack

Breakthrough arrives in theaters nationwide on April 17.

Written by Chris Parton
Carrie Underwood Leads Country Cast of ‘Breakthrough’ Soundtrack
Carrie Underwood, Photo by John Shearer/WireImage; Chrissy Metz, Photo by Steve Granitz/WireImage

Carrie Underwood, Darius Rucker and more are included on an emotionally charged new movie soundtrack. Titled Breakthrough (Music From & Inspired By The Motion Picture), the project will also feature tunes by Lauren Alaina, Maddie & Tae and others.

Based on the inspirational true story of a boy who falls into an icy lake in Missouri – and the mother who refuses to give up her faith, no matter the odds – Breakthrough features an A-list cast of stars like Chrissy Metz (This Is Us), Josh Lucas (Sweet Home Alabama), Topher Grace (That ‘70s Show) and Mike Colter Marcel Ruiz. Meanwhile, other actors include Sam Trammell (True Blood), Dennis Haysbert (The Allstate Insurance guy) and Mike Colter (Luke Cage).

Underwood’s anthemic “Love Wins” from her Cry Pretty album highlights the film’s soundtrack, while a track written by pop legend Diane Warren leads the set. Elsewhere, country artists Mickey Guyton and Adam Hambrick also contribute self-penned songs.

Breakthrough arrives in theaters nationwide on April 17, but before that you can listen to the soundtrack, which will be released on April 5. Pre-order the soundtrack now.

Breakthrough (Music From & Inspired By The Motion Picture) Track Listing:
“I’m Standing With You” – Chrissy Metz (Written by Diane Warren)
“Hold On” – Mickey Guyton (Written by Mickey Guyton, Karen Kosowski, Victoria Banks)
“Love Wins” – Carrie Underwood (Written by Carrie Underwood, David Garcia, Brett James)
“Breathe Again” – Lauren Alaina (Written by Felicia Barton, David Hodges, Jason Weiss)
“Big Old Shoulders” – Darius Rucker (Written by Allen Shamblin, Tom Douglas)
“Colorful” – Jukebox the Ghost (Written by Ben Thornewill, Tommy Siegel, Jesse Kristin, Chris Wallace)
“Play it Again” – Pigeon John (Written by Shane Eli Abrahams, Jonathan Pakfar, John Dust)
“Looking Out For Me” – Adam Hambrick (Written by Adam Hambrick)
“People Need People” – Maddie & Tae (Written by Maddie Marlow, Taylor Dye, Jimmy Robbins)
“This is Amazing Grace” – Phil Wickham feat. Lecrae (Written by Phil Wickham, Josh Farro, Jeremy Riddle, Lecrae Moore)
“Oceans (Where Feet May Fail)” – Taylor Mosby feat. Kirk Franklin (Written by Matt Crocker, Joel Houston, Salomon Ligthelm)