Clint Black Tributes Country Tradition in Star Studded ‘This Old House’

Dierks Bentley, Travis Tritt and more help Black honor the Grand Ole Opry.

Written by Chris Parton
Clint Black Tributes Country Tradition in Star Studded ‘This Old House’
Clint Black; Photo Credit: Kevin Mazur

Clint Black turns back the clock for his new single, “This Old House,” paying tribute to country’s most famous home — the Grand Ole Opry.

Featuring Trace Adkins, Dierks Bentley, Cody Jinks, Sara Evans, Michael Ray, Darius Rucker, Travis Tritt, and Steve Wariner, the classic-sounding track was first written for Black’s multi-Platinum debut, Killin’ Time — which came out 30 years ago — but it didn’t make the cut. So when it was time to record the anniversary album, Still Killin’ Time, dusting off the almost-hit struck Black like a no-brainer.

Along with the stars featured on the song, Black filmed a music video that combines footage of his guests in the studio with archival clips of the Opry, highlighting the connections between past and present, as well as the song’s hook: “This old house, will always be home.” It’s the first time the Opry has allowed actual stage and backstage dressing room footage to appear in a music video.

“It’s such an honor to have these great artists agree to sing on this record and the willingness of the Opry to open its archives and its doors to me for the making of the video is more than I could’ve dreamed,” Black says of the project. “This has been one of the most exciting experiences in my entire career.”

Featuring eight live recordings of Black’s hits and two studio recordings of songs that nearly made it onto the debut album — “This Old House” and “No One Here for Me” — Still Killin’ Time comes out November 8.

Still Killin’ Time track list:

  1. This Old House
  2. No One Here For Me
  3. Killin’ Time (Live)
  4. A Better Man (Live)
  5. Walkin’ Away (Live)
  6. Summer’s Comin’ (Live)
  7. Tuckered Out (Live)
  8. A Good Run of Bad Luck (Live)
  9. Like the Rain (Live)
  10. Nothin’ but the Taillights (Live)