Josh Abbott Band Ready New Album ‘The Highway Kind’

Get all the details on Josh Abbott Band's forthcoming new album here!

Written by Jeremy Chua
Josh Abbott Band Ready New Album ‘The Highway Kind’
Josh Abbott Band; Photo Credit: Joseph Llanes

Country superstar group Josh Abbott Band are set to release their new sixth studio album, The Highway Kind, on November 13.

The ten-track record is produced by Marshall Altman (Marc Broussard, Frankie Ballard, Aaron Watson), and was recorded at Sonic Ranch in El Paso. Lead singer Josh Abbott calls it “the first real, true band album experience,” having retreated at the acclaimed Texas studio for two weeks in mid-2019, where the band’s musicianship evolved as they worked closely with Altman. 

The Highway Kind is the album I wish we had put out seven years ago. The lyrics, the melodies, the subtle touches; this album is the very best effort from our group,” Abbott shares in a statement. “These songs were brought to life and curated to reflect where my life is now: happy, fulfilled, blessed. From love songs to songs about friendship, from ballads to bangers, this album has it all.”

The project will chronicle Abbott’s life and newfound purpose as a husband and now father of two after touring out on the road for the last 12 years.

“They’re true-life songs. I hope people listen to this record and go, ‘Man, Josh is in a really good place around now,” the Texas native adds.

The seven-men band consist of Abbott (vocals, guitar), Preston Wait (fiddle, electric guitar), Edward Villanueva (drums), James Hertless (bass), Caleb Keeter (electric guitar), Austin Davis (banjo) and David Fralin (Keyboard).

The Highway Kind is the follow-up to the Texas country group’s 2017 record, Until My Voice Goes Out, and will include its feel-good lead single “Little More You” as well as the newly-released title track. Fans can pre-order the forthcoming album and exclusive merch bundles HERE.

The Highway Kind Track List:

1.The Highway Kind
2. Real Damn Good
3.Where I Wanna Be
4.Settle Me Down
5. The Luckiest
6. Little More You
7. 24-7-365
8. One More Two Steps
9. Women & Wishes
10. Old Men & Rain