Lady Antebellum to Set Sail With New Album, ‘Ocean’

Seventh album features Little Big Town and a return to their vocal roots.

Written by Chris Parton
Lady Antebellum to Set Sail With New Album, ‘Ocean’
Lady Antebellum; Cover Art Courtesy of BMLG Records

Acclaimed country trio Lady Antebellum are promising a creative sea change with their seventh album, Ocean, officially setting sail on November 15.

Marking Lady A’s first album on their new record label home, Big Machine Label Group, Ocean will feature 13 tracks and is described as a return to the group’s richly textured vocal roots. Working for the first time with mega-producer Dann Huff (Keith Urban, Thomas Rhett), band member Dave Haywood says the project features a sense of urgency not felt in some time.

“There’s this theme of returning to the core of who we are—as writers, vocalists and people—that came out in each of these songs,” he explains. “Our time in the studio with Dann had an excitement that felt like we were making our first album all over again.”

After 13 years as a group, the trio have certainly ridden the waves of life and career — and Ocean is designed to cover the full spectrum of those ups and downs. Previously released songs like “Pictures” offer a breezy, easy-listening sway, while the current single “What If I Never Get Over You” packs a bleak sense of heartbreak. Meanwhile, the piano-led title track captures quiet desperation and the trio trade harmonies with another group of vocal stars on “The Thing That Wrecks You” (featuring Little Big Town).

Ocean is all of the things that we think and feel when we hear the word,” the band’s Hillary Scott says. “This album is immersed in life stories about barely keeping your head above water all the way to those times that make you feel like everything is smooth sailing.”

Over the weekend, the group live streamed a conversation about the album and performed a few of the new tracks.

Here’s a complete track listing for Lady Antebellum’s Ocean:

  1. “What If I Never Get Over You”
    (Sam Ellis, Jon Green, Ryan Hurd, Laura Veltz)
  2. “Pictures”
    (Dave Haywood, Charles Kelley, Hillary Scott, Sarah Buxton, Corey Crowder)
  3. “Crazy Love”
    (Charles Kelley, Nathan Chapman)
  4. “You Can Do You”
    (Dave Haywood, Charles Kelley, Corey Crowder, Jordan Schmidt)
  5. “What I’m Leaving For”
    (Sam Ellis, Micah Premnath, Laura Veltz)
  6. “Be Patient With My Love”
    (Charles Kelley, Dave Barnes, Ben West)
  7. “Alright”
    (Dave Haywood, Charles Kelley, Hillary Scott, Busbee, Justin Ebach)
  8. “Let It Be Love”
    (Hillary Scott, Jordan Reynolds, Amy Wadge)
  9. “On A Night Like This”
    (Dave Barnes)
  10. “Boots”
    (Charles Kelley, Ross Copperman)
  11. “The Thing That Wrecks You” feat. Little Big Town
    (Daniel Tashian, Tenille Townes, Kate York)
  12. “Mansion”
    (Chris DeStefano, Hillary Lindsey, Josh Miller)
  13. “Ocean”
    (Tofer Brown, Sarah Buxton, Abe Stoklasa)