Miranda Lambert Overcomes the Odds in New Track ‘Champion’

The determined new track is part of the 'Make It Up As We Go' podcast.

Written by Chris Parton
Miranda Lambert Overcomes the Odds in New Track ‘Champion’
Miranda Lambert performs “Settling Down” at “The 54th Annual CMA Awards,” on Wednesday, November 11, 2020; live on ABC from Music City Center in Downtown Nashville; Photo courtesy of CMA

Miranda Lambert highlights the price of making your musical dreams come true in the resolute “Champion,” a new track that helps finish off the intriguing Make It Up As We Go podcast.

Part of Make It Up As We Go’s final episode (out now and streaming below), the track arrives as mellow-roots diary entry looking back over a long and winding journey. With softly-plucked banjo notes, sweeping steel guitar, quiet percussion and Lambert’s delicate-but-determined vocal, the country icon sings of an artist’s long road to realizing their ambitions, full of missed weddings and lonely, uncertain nights. But in spite of the hardships, she ultimately decides she’d do it all again.

“Champion” was written by songwriter and producer Nicolle Galyon, who also takes part in the ambitious scripted podcast. And Lambert writes on Instagram of the track’s course-holding theme, saying “It’s about making your way through the sacrifices and hard parts of life.”

The tracks helps put an inspiring touch on a podcast that had aspirational tones from the start — a story of one hopeful country artist learning to find her way in Nashville. Lambert served as executive producer on the show, which also featured country hit maker Lindsay Ell; singer-songwriter, actor, and series director, Scarlett Burke; country artist, Tyler Rich; and Galyon. They’re all part of Make It Up As We Go’s official soundtrack as well, which features nine tracks in total and is also out now.

Make It Up As We Go was created by Burke and “Jingle Jared” mastermind Jared Gutstadt and debuted in October, and you can listen to the whole series below.

Make It Up As We Go Track Listing:

  1. “Make It Up As We Go” – Scarlett Burke
  2. “Champion” – Miranda Lambert
  3. “Workin’ Out” – Lindsay Ell
  4. “My Dove” – Scarlett Burke
  5. “Dream Small” – Scarlett Burke
  6. “Here’s Lookin’ at You” – Scarlett Burke
  7. “Poison” – Scarlett Burke
  8. “Back Alley Boo” – Scarlett Burke
  9. “Breathe” – Scarlett Burke Feat. Tyler Rich