Mitchell Tenpenny and Girlfriend Meghan Patrick Have a ‘Neon Christmas’

Love is all you need!

Written by Chris Parton
Mitchell Tenpenny and Girlfriend Meghan Patrick Have a ‘Neon Christmas’
Meghan Patrick and Mitchell Tenpenny; Photo credit: Tristan Cusick

Mitchell Tenpenny makes the best of a cancelled Christmas in the new video for “Neon Christmas,” sneaking off to the bar with girlfriend and Canadian country star Meghan Patrick.

Mixing the classic warmth of your holiday favorites with a country-rock flair and Tenpenny’s high flying vocal, “Neon Christmas” is a new original written by Mitchell, Lindsay Rimes and Matt Rogers — and its video lets the holiday spirit shine. It was shot by Weston Heflin/Strange Bird Media and finds the couple enjoying the gift of togetherness, even after finding out their plans have been put on hold, which is definitely a familiar theme in 2020. But Tenpenny and Patrick won’t let it dampen their cheer in the lovable East Nashville dive bar, Wilburn Street Tavern.

Instead, they play a little pool, sing some karaoke and even share a few on-screen smooches, all under the glow of neon Christmas lights.

“This was my first video with Meghan, and its one we will never forget,” Tenpenny says of the clip. “She makes it easy for me to be comfortable and be myself. I know a lot of us will be stuck in this Christmas, but I hope you can still find your Neon Christmas wherever you are.”

“Neon Christmas” is the title track of Mitchell Tenpenny’s Neon Christmas EP, which was released in October and features seven cheerful tracks, including four originals. Patrick is the 2020 Juno award winner for Country Album of The Year (Wild as Me), and a two-time CCMA Female Artist of The Year. 

Neon Christmas Track Listing:

  1. O Holy Night
  2. Let It Snow! Let It Snow! Let It Snow!
  3. Snow Angels / written by Mitchell Tenpenny, Ernest Keith Smith, Rafe Tenpenny
  4. Neon Christmas/ written by Tenpenny, Lindsay Rimes, Matt Rogers
  5. Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas
  6. Joy To The World
  7. The Naughty List/ written by Mitchell Tenpenny, Andy Albert, Jordan Schmidt