Randy Travis Recaptures the Warmth of ‘80s Country With ‘Ain’t No Use’

This one transports us right back to the 1980's! 

Written by Jeremy Chua
Randy Travis Recaptures the Warmth of ‘80s Country With ‘Ain’t No Use’
Randy Travis: Credit; Robert Tractenberg

Country icon Randy Travis has released “Ain’t No Use,” a new, unheard song from The Vault.

Co-written by Travis and John Lindley, the track serves up some serious ‘80s country nostalgia.  Travis’ signature baritone is front and center with the accompaniment of a vibrant neotraditional sound that country fans will find delight in. 

“’Cause it ain’t no use to talk about it / Looks like I’ll just learn to get along without it / Girl, you turn your head and I have to shout /  It ain’t no use to talk to you about love” Travis sings over an infectious and euphoric melody. When the Marshville, North Carolina native first launched into the scene, he was uncompromising in his rootsy, throwback country sound—and “Ain’t No Use” highlights that once again.

“Ain’t No Use” previews the special re-release of Travis’ monumental 1986 debut album, Storms of Life (35th Anniversary Deluxe Edition). Due out on September 24, the expanded LP features remastered versions of the hit singles “Diggin’ Up Bones,” “On the Other Hand,” “1982” and “No Place Like Home,” plus three previously recorded and unreleased songs, including “Ain’t No Use.”

Pre-save and pre-order the album HERE.

Storms of Life (35th Anniversary Deluxe Edition) Track List:

1. “On The Other Hand” (Paul Overstreet, Don Schlitz)
2. “The Storms of Life” (Max D. Barnes, Troy Seals)
3. “My Heart Cracked (But It Did Not Break)” (Ronny Scaife, Don Singleton, Phil Thomas)
4. “Diggin’ Up Bones” (Al Gore, Paul Overstreet, Nat Stuckey)
5. “No Place Like Home” (Paul Overstreet)
6. “1982” (Buddy Blackmon, Vip Vipperman)
7. “Send My Body” (Randy Travis)
8. “Messin’ With My Mind” (Joseph Allen, Charlie Williams)
9. “Reasons I Cheat” (Randy Travis)
10. “There’ll Always Be A Honky Tonk Somewhere” (Steve Clark, Johnny MacRae)
- Unreleased Tracks – 
13. “Ain’t No Use”
14. “Carryin’ Fire”
15. “The Wall”
*All tracks produced by Kyle Lehning, except “On The Other Hand” and “Reasons I Cheat” produced by Lehning and Keith Stegall.