Striking Matches Announce Debut Album, ‘Nothing But The Silence’

Written by SLN Staff Writer
Striking Matches Announce Debut Album, ‘Nothing But The Silence’

Striking Matches - Nothing But The Silence

In her list of artists to watch out for in 2015, NPR Music’s Ann Powers singled out Striking Matches calling them a “perfectly balanced duo.” She continued, stating “They both have incredible skills. They both have wonderful voices. Their harmonies are fabulous. And they both play the heck out of the guitar!”

The Nashville guitar-wielding duo create an unexpected and unique sound that defies easy categorization. Members Sarah Zimmermann and Justin Davis occupy that sweet spot at the intersection of country, rock, and blues where all of the elements blend to form an authentically raw and rootsy sound that has a timeless and international appeal. For their debut album Nothing But The Silence due out March 24th, Zimmermann and Davis teamed up with legendary Grammy-winning producer T Bone Burnett to become the debut artist on the newly revived label I.R.S. Nashville. Yesterday, CMT premiered the lyric video for “Missing You Tonight,” watch it below.

“The fact that we are releasing our debut album in itself is a dream come true,” said Zimmermann. “I have to pinch myself every time I tell someone that one of our all-time biggest heroes, T Bone Burnett, produced our record. Just to be in the same room with him is an honor, let alone working in the studio with him.”

Nothing But The Silence stands out from the rest of the pack with its driving rhythms and simple yet artful production that’s designed to showcase the compelling harmonies, honest lyrics, and innovative guitar playing. It captures the high energy and spontaneity of their popular live shows including songs such as “Hanging on a Lie,” which they reinterpret with grit, a distorted mandolin and a mid-song jam session, as well as the organic and honest “Nothing But the Silence,” the guitar-centered “Trouble Is As Trouble Does” and “Make a Liar Out of Me,” and the groove-oriented “Never Gonna Love Again.” Later this month, Striking Matches will perform a sold out show at New York City’s Joe’s Pub on Thursday, January 29th at 7:00pm.

“We’ve waited all of our lives to get here to the beginning,” said Davis. “Working with T Bone, releasing our first record, and the freedom to play as musicians on it have all been attributes to this project that made all the work and waiting a very worthy price of admission.”

Eight of the duo’s songs have been featured on ABC’s hit drama series Nashville including “When the Right One Comes Along” and “Hanging on a Lie” making them one of the most synced artists on that program. This helped attract an international fan base proven by their first performances in London which produced sold-out shows and audiences with a deep knowledge of their lyrics, even before the release of their first full album. Their debut self-titled EP was named among iTunes “Best of 2012″ and received national attention from outlets such as NPR, the BBC, and The Wall Street Journal. They’ve performed on the Grand Ole Opry stage over 35 times as well as toured with Train, Vince Gill, Ashley Monroe, and Hunter Hayes.

Nothing But The Silence Track List:
01) Trouble Is As Trouble Does
02) Make A Liar Out Of Me
03) Nothing But The Silence
04) Hanging On A Lie
05) Never Gonna Love Again
06) When The Right One Comes Along
07) What A Broken Heart Feels Like
08) Miss Me More
09) Like Lovers
10) Missing You Tonight
11) God And You