Carrie Underwood, Kane Brown Among 2019 CMT Artists of the Year

This year's honoree class is amazing!

Written by Lauren Laffer
Carrie Underwood, Kane Brown Among 2019 CMT Artists of the Year
Carrie Underwood, Kane Brown; Photos by: John Shearer/WireImage

The 2019 CMT Artists of the Year celebration will return this October with an all new ensemble of artists. Announced early Tuesday morning (9/17), this year’s AOTY class includes Carrie Underwood, Luke Combs, Thomas Rhett, Dan + Shay and Kane Brown.

According to Associated Press, each of the five honorees were selected by CMT for their chart-topping success in the last year, as well as their ability to sell-out shows.

“These five, stand-out honorees have dominated country music this year and we look forward to paying tribute to each of them at the 10th year anniversary CMT Artists of the Year event,” said Leslie Fram, Senior Vice President of Music Strategy & Talent, CMT, in a press release. “From first-time honorees Dan + Shay, Kane Brown and Luke Combs to two-time honoree Thomas Rhett and now five-time honoree Carrie Underwood, this incredible collection of talent coming together at what marks a pivotal time in each of their careers promises to be a night of incredible performances and reflection.”

This year marks the first time that Combs, Dan + Shay and Brown have been recognized at the Artists of the Year ceremony while Rhett and Underwood have each been recognized before.

Performers for the show will be announced at a later date.

The CMT Artists of the Year celebration will take place at the Schermerhorn Symphony Center in Nashville on October 16th at 8/7c on CMT.