Check Out Aaron Watson’s Simple-but-Powerful ‘Red Bandana’ Cover Art

The album is set to arrive on June 21st.

Written by Chris Parton
Check Out Aaron Watson’s Simple-but-Powerful ‘Red Bandana’ Cover Art
Aaron Watson; Photo Credit CK Dirks Photography

Independent hit maker Aaron Watson has revealed the release date and cover art of his upcoming album, setting June 21st for the arrival of Red Bandana.

The “Outta Style” Texan – who topped the Billboard Country Album chart with 2015’s The Underdog and landed at Number Two with 2017’s Vaquero, despite not being signed a major label or distribution deal – also shared-the-simple but powerful imagery for his new album. Going with an actual red bandana on a pure-black background, Watson says the artwork is a tribute to his hard-working mindset.

“There’s nothing more classic, more country, or more cowboy than an old red bandana,” he explains. “It signifies hard work, grit and determination. I made this record with the mindset that this might be my last one, though I believe this is the beginning of something big. That very mindset helped me focus on writing songs with heart and soul that could leave a lasting legacy. I needed a cover that would reflect the meaning behind the music. I needed something with more substance than just another cover with my picture on it. The title track is a cowboy poem, so I decided, why not just photograph my Dad’s old red bandana. We tilted the square red bandana 45 degrees and there it was, like a diamond in the rough.”

Red Bandana will feature 20 new tracks, written solely by Watson, including his current single and uptempo boot stomper, “Kiss That Girl Goodbye.” The twangy, better-off-without-him anthem was written solo by Watson about a fan who was stood up for a date at one of his shows, and the indie-country icon has lately been hinting that more new music is on the way soon.

Watson is on the road now with more than 40 coast to coast dates scheduled through summer.

Red Bandana Full Track List:
1) “Ghost Of Guy Clark”
2) “El Comienzo Del Viaje”
3) “Dark Horse”
4) “Heartstrings”
5) “Old Friend”
6) “Kiss That Girl Goodbye”
7) “Country Radio”
8) “Legends”
9) “Am I Amarillo”
10) “Blood Brothers”
11) “Live Or Die Trying”
12) “Riding With Red”
13) “Red Bandana”
14) “Trying Like The Devil”
15) “Home Sweet Home”
16) “Burn Em Down”
17) “Shake A Heartache”
18) “You On My Hands”
19) “To Be The Moon”
20) “58”
Written By: Aaron Watson
Produced By: Aaron Watson and Jordan Lehning