Alan Jackson To Be Inducted Into Songwriters Hall of Fame

Alan Jackson is among the latest round of inductees slated to join the acclaimed Songwriters Hall of Fame this year.

Written by Lauren Laffer
Alan Jackson To Be Inducted Into Songwriters Hall of Fame
Alan Jackson; Photo by Terry Wyatt/Getty Images

As one of music’s most beloved artists, Alan Jackson will find his place among the elite when he is inducted into the Songwriters Hall of Fame at the organization’s 49th Annual Induction and Awards Dinner this year.

Joining Jackson in the class of 2018 will be fellow acclaimed songwriters Bill Anderson, Robert “Kool” Bell, Ronald Bell, George Brown & James “JT” Taylor P/K/A “Kool & The Gang,” Steve Dorff, Jermaine Dupri, John Mellencamp and Allee Willis.

“The 2018 roster of Songwriters Hall of Fame inductees is a prodigious representation of creators of cross-genre hits, certain to resonate with everyone,” said SHOF co-chairs Kenneth Gamble & Leon Huff and president/CEO Linda Moran in a press release. “Each year, the slate of songwriters we induct is more diverse and illustrative of the history and contributions that we strive to acknowledge and honor. We could not be more excited to preside over this year’s event and to give these songwriters their due respect.”

The Songwriters Hall of Fame recognizes the work and lives of composers and lyricists. To qualify, a songwriter must have a minimum of 20 years as a published writer and a notable catalog of songs.

The honor, which has been bestowed upon acts including Merle Haggard, Dolly Parton, Loretta Lynn, Paul McCartney, Paul Simon, Elton John, John Lennon, Bob Dylan, Carole King, Bruce Springsteen, among others, is not lost upon the legendary act.

“I started writing because somebody told me I needed some original material. I’d never even thought about writing or studied songwriting,” Jackson shared. “There are different aspects of your career, and they all bring different rewards and feelings…but the songwriting is very fulfilling. Songwriting is definitely the most creative part.”

Jackson’s resume includes “Chattahoochee,” “Midnight in Montgomery,” “Remember When,” “Livin’ On Love,” “Drive,” “Chasin’ That Neon Rainbow” and “Where Were You (When the World Stopped Turning).”

The 2018 inductees will formally be inaugurated during the Induction and Awards Gala on June 14 in New York City.