The Band Perry Changes Course with Five-Song Release Coordinates

After a year-and-a-half of slience, sibling trio The Band Perry will debut new music in the form of their five-song EP, Coordinates.

Written by Lauren Laffer
The Band Perry Changes Course with Five-Song Release <em>Coordinates</em>
The Band Perry; Publicity photo

Country no more! The Band Perry’s “If I Die Young” days are done, and the sibling trio is ready for a new chapter with an entirely new sound.

Kimberly, Reid and Neil Perry have been nearly silent about their next musical move since releasing “Stay In The Dark” in February 2017. After toiling away for more than a year, the trio will release a five-song EP called Coordinates, which was inspired by “German electronic music,” Trent Reznor’s How to Destroy Angels and Kanye West’s Yeezus.

“We went and studied a lot of that music, and on the way to the studio in the morning, we would be playing very specific things to inspire the mood of the day. And so I think that the sound on the project is sort of like minimal brutalism — which, yes, was absolutely what we were feeling in our lives,” shares Kimberly during an interview with Variety. “It was like, yeah, there’s some brutal things happening, but we’re all just moving toward simplicity and impact.”


View this post on Instagram


We love u all so much. Thank u for believing in us. LET’S VIBE.✌️✌️✌️ COORDINATES // New 5 song drop coming this Friday.

A post shared by The Band Perry (@thebandperry) on

Executive produced by hip-hop and rock legend Rick Rubin, Coordinates will mark the first of future EPs released by The Band Perry, as the trio stray away from the typical course of action in releasing a full-length album.

“We’re just so proud of everything that we’ve spent the last little while building,” adds Kimberly, who reveals the music will be released via their newly-formed creative house, ARTRAT. “And I think the other pervasive feeling is freedom to put out music in the way that we’ve always desired to — not just the sound of it, but even the construction how to get it out quickly and directly to the folks whose ears we’re reaching for.”

During their country days, The Band Perry released two full-length projects, 2010’s self-titled album and 2013’s Pioneer. The records put the sibling trio on the map with songs including “Hip to My Heart,” “If I Die Young,” “Chainsaw,” “Don’t Let Me Be Lonely,” among many others. The group started shifting lanes when they parted ways with longtime label, Republic Nashville/Big Machine, and signed a short-lived pop deal with Interscope.

Coordinates is set for release on Friday, September 21.

Coordinates Track List
1. “Seven Seconds”
2. “Nostalgia”
3. “Dear Departed”
4. “Run Away”
5. “Marfa Prada”