Billy Ray Cyrus Announces ‘Set The Record Straight’ Album

The new album features a mix of old and new tracks, including a duet with his daughter, Miley Cyrus. 

Written by Sydney Smith
Billy Ray Cyrus Announces ‘Set The Record Straight’ Album
Billy Ray Cyrus; Photo courtesy Webster PR

Billy Ray Cyrus stirred up a bit of controversy when he announced he was changing his name to “Cyrus,” but he “set the record straight” by revealing that it was all part of his new album, appropriately titled Set The Record Straight.

In celebration of his birthday on August 25, as well as to help commemorate the 25th anniversary of his hit song “Achy Breaky Heart,” Cyrus shared details of his new album, due out November 10. Set the Record Straight features a mix of new and old tracks, including collaborations with Joe Perry, George Jones, Loretta Lynn, Bryan Adams, Ronnie Milsap and Miley Cyrus.

“I’m so excited to share this collection of music. These are some of my favorite songs. Some are new and have been an intricate part of ‘Still The King’ story lines. Others are new mixes and different styles of songs that allowed me to experiment with the diversity that is so much a part of my musical being. There are some collaborations with my musical heroes and a special tribute to one of my greatest influences of all time – Ronnie Van Zant and the members of Lynyrd Skynyrd. In this being the 40-year anniversary of that tragic crash that impacted me and so many others fans around the world, I wrote and recorded ‘The Freebird Fell’,” Cyrus said.

Fans who pre-order a physical copy will receive an autographed copy of Set The Record Straight. The iTunes pre-order includes three instant gratification tracks, including “I Wanna Be Your Joe,” “Achy Breaky Heart 25th (Muscle Shoals Mix)” and “Tulsa Time (Rokman Remix).”

Billy Ray Cyrus; Cover art courtesy Webster PR

Billy Ray Cyrus; Cover art courtesy Webster PR

1. Tulsa Time Feat. Joe Perry
2. I Wanna Be Your Joe (New Mix)
3. Achy Breaky Heart Feat. Ronnie Milsap On Piano (Muscle Shoals Mix)
4. You Good
5. I Want My Mullet Back
6. Country Music Has The Blues Feat. George Jones & Loretta Lynn
7. Thin Line Feat. Shelby Lynne
8. Hey Elvis Feat. Bryan Adams & Glenn Hughes
9. I Wouldn’t Be Me
10. Stand Feat. Miley Cyrus
11. Hey Daddy
12. The Freebird Fell
13. Achy Breaky Heart 25 (Spanglish) Feat. Jencarlos Canela
14. Tulsa Time (Rokman Remix)
15. Worry