Brantley Gilbert Lights the Fuse on ‘Fire & Brimstone (Deluxe Edition)’

He's re-releasing the album with two new tracks.

Written by Chris Parton
Brantley Gilbert Lights the Fuse on ‘Fire & Brimstone (Deluxe Edition)’
Brantley Gilbert; Photo Credit: Jeff Nelson

Brantley Gilbert is re-igniting his fifth studio album, Fire & Brimstone, announcing a deluxe edition of the set due October 2.

First released in October of 2019, the one-year anniversary project will feature all 15 of the original album’s 15 tracks, along with a poignant pair of new songs. First is Gilbert’s character-building current single, “Hard Days,” which he recently performed in acoustic style for viewers on Fox & Friends — and the second comes with a deep personal meaning. Titled “Old Friends” and written after the unexpected passing of Gilbert’s long-time crew member and friend, Al Ditch, Gilbert says the somber ballad is dedicated to the kind of “Old Friends” you never forget.

“‘Old Friends’ is about treasuring friendships with those folks who always have your back through thick and thin, the ones you make memories with that last a lifetime,” he says. “Al was that kind of friend, and he had that kind of impact on the entire crew. He made sure we’d have plenty of good memories to look back on, and we’re so blessed to have had him with us for eight years.

“When you write as much as I do, there’s just no sense in holding it back, especially when it fits in so well with what BG Nation is listening to at the moment,” Gilbert goes on. “After hearing our fans and knowing so many of them are going through it, we wanted to commemorate the one-year anniversary of our latest album with something special.”

The original Fire & Brimstone debuted at Number One on Billboard’s Country Albums chart. It also included the Gold-certified “What Happens In A Small Town” (featuring Lindsay Ell), which marked Gilbert’s fifth Number One single as an artist.


View this post on Instagram



Alan, they don’t make em like you anymore…. Until we meet again

A post shared by Brantley Gilbert (@brantleygilbert) on

Track listing for Fire & Brimstone (Deluxe Edition):
1. Fire’t Up (Brantley Gilbert, Brandon Day, Justin Weaver)
2. Not Like Us (Gilbert, Rhett Akins, Brock Berryhill, Amy Wadge)
3. Welcome to Hazeville (Gilbert, Rodney Clawson, Andrew DeRoberts, Colt Ford) featuring Colt Ford, Lukas Nelson and Willie Nelson
4. What Happens in a Small Town (Gilbert, Rhett Akins, Brock Berryhill, Josh Dunne) featuring Lindsay Ell
5. She Ain’t Home (Brian Davis, Justin Weaver)
6. Lost Soul’s Prayer (Gilbert, Andrew DeRoberts)
7. Tough Town (Gilbert, Blake Chaffin, Andrew DeRoberts, Josh Phillips)
8. Fire & Brimstone (Gilbert) featuring Jamey Johnson and Alison Krauss
9. Laid Back Ride (Gilbert)
10. Bad Boy (Gilbert, Andrew DeRoberts, Josh Phillips)
11. New Money (Gilbert, Rhett Akins, Brock Berryhill, Brandon Day)
12. Breaks Down (Gilbert, Jaida Dreyer, Josh Mirenda, Justin Weaver)
13. Man of Steel (Gilbert, Brock Berryhill, Cole Taylor)
14. Never Gonna Be Alone (Gilbert, Brock Berryhill, Erik Dylan)
15. Man that Hung the Moon (Gilbert)
16. Hard Days (Gilbert, Jimi Bell, Brock Berryhill, Jay Brunswick, Logan Wall)
17. Old Friends (Gilbert, Brock Berryhill, Randy Montana)