Chase Bryant Announces Debut Album, ‘Upbringing,’ After Long Hiatus

The "Take It On Back" hitmaker's first album will arrive some seven years into his career.

Written by Chris Parton
Chase Bryant Announces Debut Album, ‘Upbringing,’ After Long Hiatus
Chase Bryant; Photo credit: Jeff Ray

Country singer Chase Bryant has recorded his debut album after a long hiatus away from music, revealing the details behind Upbringing.

Set for release on July 16 and featuring 12 new tracks, the project comes more than three years after the release of the Texas native’s last single, and was born from a troubled period that included a 2018 suicide attempt. Bryant opened up about his struggle for the first time last month, and now shares two tracks from his comeback project’s, including “High, Drunk, and Heartbroke.”

View this post on Instagram

A post shared by Chase Bryant (@iamchasebryant)

Bryant co-wrote 10 tracks for the album and worked with producer Jon Randall to capture a sound he calls “grittier” than his previous work, which included the Top 10 hits “Take It On Back” and “Little Bit of You.” The talented guitarist says now that his early music felt inauthentic to him, like he was playing a character in a movie, and the disconnect led to the despair he ultimately grappled with. In “High, Drunk, and Heartbroke,” he presents a more grounded, country-and-blues sound, and some painfully introspective lyrics.

“I’m so high, I ain’t ever coming down / Drunk enough to say it way too loud / This pain ain’t no joke / Since that’s all she wrote / I’m getting high, drunk, and heartbroke,” the track goes.

Other tracks on the project include a duet with acclaimed singer and songwriter Jessi Alexander, plus the high energy title track, “Upbringing,” which features a music video filmed in Bryant’s hometown of Orange Grove, Texas.

Upbringing, the debut album from Chase Bryant, arrives on July 16. The complete track list is below:

  1. Upbringing (Chase Bryant / Stephen Wilson Jr.)
  2. Think About That (Bryant / Lance Miller / Brad Warren / Brett Warren)
  3. Little Bitty Town (Bryant / Miller / Tim Owens)
  4. Even Now ft. Jessi Alexander (Bryant / Joe Haydel / Owens)
  5. Somewhere in a Bar (Bryant / Wilson Jr.)
  6. Cold Beer (Bryant / Aaron Raitiere)
  7. Selfish (Bryant / Cary Barlowe / Will Weatherly)
  8. Paradise (Bryant / Barlowe / Weatherly)
  9. Red Light (Bryant / Ryan Beaver)
  10. Drinking in My Car (Jon Randall)
  11. In the First Place (Wilson Jr. / Beaver)
  12. High, Drunk, and Heartbroke (Bryant / Wilson Jr. / Dave Pittenger)