Chris Young Announces Eighth Studio Album, ‘Famous Friends’

Finally - we have a date for new Chris Young music!

Chris Young Announces Eighth Studio Album, ‘Famous Friends’
Chris Young; Photo credit: Jeff Johnson

After years of anticipation, Chris Young will release his eighth studio album on August 6. Named Famous Friends after his duet with Kane Brown, the Tennessee native will finally satiate fans’ needs for new music.

“We’ve been teasing everybody for years,” Young tells PEOPLE in an interview announcing the project. “I’m really, really excited to have this album out there for everybody and to be able to announce it.”

“It’s been so long that I’ve been talking about all the stuff that I did in the past year-and-a-half, and I think people at one point thought I was just messing with them a little bit,” he adds. “They were like, ‘Do you actually have an album coming out?’ But it’s so exciting to have this information out there.”

The project is his first since 2017’s Losing Sleep and Young has been teasing new music with the release of several singles, including “Town Ain’t Big Enough,” “Drowning,” “If That Ain’t God” and the album’s namesake. Naming the album after the breakout single is something Young didn’t have to question.

“This song has really made a name for itself with how much people love it,” Young explains. “Going into the album launch right here in the heat of the summer with a song that’s becoming one of the songs of the summer, it made a lot of sense to call this Famous Friends.”

Young will celebrate Famous Friends with a performance featuring Brown during the 2021 CMT Music Awards tonight (6/9). The accompanying music video is currently nominated for Collaborative Video of the Year. The CMT Awards air tonight at 8 p.m. ET on MTV, MTV2, Logo, Paramount Network and TV Land.

1. Raised on Country
2. Famous Friends (with Kane Brown)
3. Town Ain’t Big Enough (with Lauren Alaina)
4. Drowning
5. Rescue Me
6. Break Like You Do
7. At the End of a Bar (with Mitchell Tenpenny)
8. Love Looks Good on You
9. One of Them Nights
10. When You’re Drinking
11. Cross Every Line
12. Hold My Beer Watch This
13. Best Seat in the House
14. Tonight We’re Dancing