Chris Young, Walker Hayes Lead 2022 ACM Awards Nominations

See the hopeful stars of the 57th annual ACM Awards.

Written by Chris Parton
Chris Young, Walker Hayes Lead 2022 ACM Awards Nominations
Image Courtesy of ACM

The field of nominees for the 57th annual ACM Awards is set, with the list of hopeful winners revealed on Thursday morning (February 10).

Announced by show co-hosts Jimmie Allen and Gabby Barrett on the ACM Awards Twitter page, the nominees feature a mix of familiar faces and a few welcome surprises. Leading the field for the first time is Chris Young, who scores seven nominations on the strength of his Famous Friends album and single, which found him co-producing as well as co-writing and performing. Meanwhile, Walker Hayes, Miranda Lambert and Chris Stapleton each have five nods, and Morgan Wallen’s notable return in four categories includes a nomination for Male Artist of the Year, despite being removed from radio playlists after a controversy at the start of the year.

Likewise, both Allen and Barrett ended up in the categories for Male and Female Artist of the Year, respectively, having won the awards for New Male Artist and New Female Artist in 2021. A full rundown is found below.

Looking ahead, we are now just weeks away from the 57th annual ACM Awards on March 7, which may wind up one the most intriguing ceremonies ever held. Marking the first major country awards show to be exclusively live-streamed, the 2022 show will air live on Amazon’s Prime Video from Las Vegas’ Allegiant Stadium, which is also a first. Co-hosts Dolly Parton, Allen and Barrett will serve as the night’s superstar guides, for a commercial-free two-hour spectacle of trophies and performances.

Here’s the full list of nominees, which were revealed on February 10:

Video of the Year

  • Elle King and Miranda Lambert – “Drunk (and I Don’t Wanna Go Home)”
  • Chris Young and Kane Brown – “Famous Friends”
  • Taylor Swift feat. Chris Stapleton – “I Bet You Think About Me” (Taylor’s Version)
  • Jason Aldean and Carrie Underwood – “If I Didn’t Love You”
  • Carly Pearce and Ashley McBryde – “Never Wanted to Be That Girl”

Song of the Year

  • Morgan Wallen – “7 Summers”
  • Jordan Davis and Luke Bryan – “Buy Dirt”
  • Walker Hayes – “Fancy Like”
  • Kenny Chesney – “Knowing You”
  • Lainey Wilson – “Things a Man Oughta Know”

Single of the Year

  • Jordan Davis feat. Luke Bryan – “Buy Dirt”
  • Chris Young and Kane Brown – “Famous Friends”
  • Walker Hayes – “Fancy Like”
  • Jason Aldean and Carrie Underwood – “If I Didn’t Love You”
  • Chris Stapleton – “You Should Probably Leave”

Album of the Year

  • Carly Pearce – 29: Written In Stone
  • Thomas Rhett – Country Again: Side A
  • Morgan Wallen – Dangerous: The Double Album
  • Chris Young – Famous Friends
  • Jack Ingram, Miranda Lambert, Jon Randall – The Marfa Tapes

Group of the Year

  • Lady A
  • Little Big Town
  • Midland
  • Old Dominion
  • The Cadillac Three

Duo of the Year

  • Brooks & Dunn
  • Brothers Osborne
  • Dan & Shay
  • Maddie & Tae

New Male Artist of the Year

  • Walker Hayes
  • Ryan Hurd
  • Parker McCollum
  • Elvie Shane

New Female Artist of the Year

  • Tenille Arts
  • Priscilla Block
  • Lily Rose
  • Caitlyn Smith
  • Lainey Wilson

Male Artist of the Year

  • Jimmie Allen
  • Luke Combs
  • Thomas Rhett
  • Chris Stapleton
  • Morgan Wallen

Female Artist of the Year

  • Gabby Barrett
  • Miranda Lambert
  • Ashley McBryde
  • Maren Morris
  • Carly Pearce

Entertainer of the Year

  • Luke Combs
  • Eric Church
  • Miranda Lambert
  • Chris Stapleton
  • Carrie Underwood