Clay Walker Announces ‘Texas To Tennessee’ Album

His 12th studio set features 10 new songs and a new approach.

Written by Chris Parton
Clay Walker Announces ‘Texas To Tennessee’ Album
Photo courtesy of Clay Walker

After returning to the spotlight last summer, ’90s hit maker Clay Walker is forging ahead with more new music — and a new mindset. Set for release on July 30, his upcoming Texas To Tennessee album is the singer’s first studio project with a new team, including a pair of hard-rock influenced producers.

Featuring 10 new songs including the 2020-released “Need a Bar Sometimes,” Walker’s new set is available for pre-order starting May 7 and was recorded in Nashville and Galveston, Texas — giving it its title. Walker co-wrote each of the new songs, and was looking to update his classic-tinted country sound for a new era — and that’s where producers Michael Knox and Jaren Boyer come in.

Knox is best known as man who recognized the superstar Jason Aldean could become, and has produced every one of his hard-hitting albums. And Boyer, meanwhile, brings the type of upbeat energy that made co-written Number Ones like Dierks Bentley’s “Somewhere On a Beach” so much fun.

“I am so excited to announce I’ll be releasing a brand new album this summer called Texas To Tennessee,” Walker says via social media. “I’m really proud of these songs and can’t wait to share them with y’all. So grateful for my incredible team and producers @musicknox and @jaronboyer for making this happen. Let’s go!”

“Need A Bar Sometimes” by Clay Walker is out now, and his 12th studio album Texas to Tennessee is set to arrive on July 30. It follows his 2019 LP, Long Live the Cowboy.

Track listing for Texas To Tennessee

  1. Anything To Do With You (Clay Walker, Brandon Kinney, Shane Minor, Mike Mobley)
  2. Need A Bar Sometimes (Walker, Jaron Boyer, Josh Mirenda, George Birge)
  3. Catching Up With An Ol’ Memory (Walker, Boyer, Birge, Lalo Guzman)
  4. Country Side (Clay Walker, Boyer, Lynn Wilbanks)
  5. Cowboy Loves A Woman (Walker, Jennifer Hanson, Mark Nesler)
  6. Texas To Tennessee (Walker, Hanson, Nesler)
  7. I Just Wanna Hold You (Walker, Boyer, Ben Stennis)
  8. Loving You Then (Walker, Jaron Boyer, Brad Rempel, Stennis)
  9. You Look Good (Walker, Boyer, Michael Tyler)
  10. One More (Walker, David Lee Murphy, Justin Weaver)