CMA Presents Triple Play Awards at Fifth Annual Songwriters Luncheon

Written by SLN Staff Writer
CMA Presents Triple Play Awards at Fifth Annual Songwriters Luncheon

CMA Triple Play

Good things come in threes as evidenced by the CMA Triple Play Awards handed out at Tuesday’s Fifth Annual CMA Songwriters Luncheon. Fifteen of Nashville’s top tunesmiths received the Award, which is presented to songwriters who pen three chart-topping hits in a 12-month period.

“I am thrilled to be able to host this event once again,” said Troy Tomlinson, former CMA Chairman of the Board and President and CEO of Sony/ATV Music Nashville. “Any opportunity I am afforded to honor songwriters is one that I look forward to with much respect and excitement.”

“Songwriters are the foundation of this industry,” said Sarah Trahern, CMA Chief Executive Officer. “The words they write touch our hearts. They make us laugh, cry, and dance. I want to congratulate all of the Triple Play Award winners for their amazing accomplishments.”

Attending Tuesday’s luncheon were Rhett Akins, Dallas Davidson, Chris DeStefano, Ashley Gorley, Hunter Hayes, Ben Hayslip, Natalie Hemby, Luke Laird, Shane McAnally, Jimmy Robbins, and Troy Verges. Also in attendance were hit tunesmiths from ASCAP, BMI, and SESAC, as well as songwriter members of CMA and representatives of some of the most successful publishers in Music City.

Songwriters Rodney Clawson and Chris Tompkins were awarded two Triple Play Awards during the ceremony as both had six songs make it to the top spot on the charts.

Absent from Tuesday’s ceremony were Josh Kear and Hillary Lindsey.

Recognizing excellence is central to CMA’s mission and the Association recognizes songwriters throughout the year with the CMA Award for Song of the Year, which is presented on the annual broadcast to the winning songwriters, and the creation of a rotating category for songwriters in the coveted Country Music Hall of Fame.

In addition, the CMA Board of Directors created and launched the CMA Songwriter Series in 2005 at Joe’s Pub in New York City, which has grown to include shows in Austin, Boston, Chicago, Los Angeles, Phoenix, Washington D.C. at the Library of Congress, and at the Sundance Film Festival. In 2012, the series expanded to the U.K. and Ireland and last year was included as part of the International Marketing Summit in Paris. The CMA Songwriters Series will return to the U.K. in 2014 as part of the C2C (Country to Country) festival, which is presented at The O2 in Dublin and London in partnership with CMA.

CMA also offers its songwriter members access to affordable health insurance. CMA Instrumental Healthcare offers exceptional benefits with more options to better fit the needs of its membership.

In alphabetical order, the recipients of CMA’s Triple Play Award included:

Rhett Akins: “Boys ‘Round Here,” “Point At You,” “Hey Girl”
Rodney Clawson: “One of Those Nights,” “Sure Be Cool If You Did,” “Get Your Shine On,” “Crash My Party,” “Round Here,” “Southern Girl”
Dallas Davidson: “The One That Got Away,” “Boys ‘Round Here,” “Runnin’ Outta Moonlight”
Chris DeStefano: “Don’t Ya,” “Hey Girl,” “That’s My Kind of Night”
Ashley Gorley: “Crash My Party,” “Runnin’ Outta Moonlight,” “Don’t Ya”
Hunter Hayes: “Wanted,” “Somebody’s Heartbreak,” “I Want Crazy”
Ben Hayslip: “The Only Way I Know,” “Anywhere With You,” “Point At You”
Natalie Hemby: “Pontoon,” “Tornado,” “Downtown”
Josh Kear: “Two Black Cadillacs,” “Highway Don’t Care,” “Redneck Crazy”
Luke Laird: “Pontoon,” “One of Those Nights,” “Somebody’s Heartbreak”
Hillary Lindsey: “Every Storm (Runs Out Of Rain),” “Two Black Cadillacs,” “See You Again”
Shane McAnally: “Better Dig Two,” “Downtown,” “Mama’s Broken Heart”
Jimmy Robbins: “Sure Be Cool If You Did,” “It Goes Like This,” “We Were Us”
Chris Tompkins: “Drunk On You,” “Blown Away,” “One Of Those Nights,” “Sure Be Cool If You Did,” “Get Your Shine On,” “Round Here”
Troy Verges: “Wanted,” “Beer Money,” “I Want Crazy”