CMT Enlists All-Female Ensemble of Performers at 2018 CMT Artists of the Year

Girl power!

Written by Lauren Laffer
CMT Enlists All-Female Ensemble of Performers at 2018 CMT Artists of the Year
Pistol Annies; Photo credit: Miller Mobley

The 2018 CMT Artists of the Year celebration will honor an all-women selection of honorees. In keeping with the theme, CMT has enlisted all female performers for the special occasion.

Taking the stage will be honoree Carrie Underwood, who will perform with her Cry Pretty Tour 360 openers Maddie & Tae and Runaway June. Additionally, Miranda Lambert and her Pistol Annies bandmates Ashley Monroe and Angaleena Presley will take the stage.

The night is full one collaborations, including a special performance between Kelsea Ballerini and Alison Krauss; Little Big Town’s Karen Fairchild and Kimberly Schlapman with Gladys Knight; and Hillary Scott of Lady Antebellum with Tori Kelly and Kirk Franklin.

Additionally, Maren Morris will perform a tribute to Aretha Franklin with Brandi Carlile.

This year, the CMT Artists of the Year include Carrie Underwood, Miranda Lambert, Kelsea Ballerini, Maren Morris, Little Big Town’s Karen Fairchild and Kimberly Schlapman and Lady Antebellum’s Hillary Scott. Loretta Lynn will also be honored with the Artist of a Lifetime award. The decision to celebrate these women in country was easy for the television network, who hopes to encourage the support of women in country music.

“We’re evolving the special to reflect what’s happening right now in culture and in the lives of our fans,” said Leslie Fram, Senior Vice President of Music & Talent, CMT. “In this monumental year for women, dedicating one of the biggest nights in the genre to applaud female country artists not only solidifies our commitment, but we hope will spark a much-needed change in the industry.”

The 2018 CMT Artists of the Year special airs live from Nashville on Wednesday, October 17th, at 8:00 p.m. ET/PT.