Dan + Shay Reveal Details of Fourth Studio Album, ‘Good Things’

It's only a month away!

Written by Chris Parton
Dan + Shay Reveal Details of Fourth Studio Album, ‘Good Things’
Dan + Shay; Cover art courtesy of Warner Music Nashville

Dan + Shay have revealed plans for a 2021 album release, announcing the details behind the upcoming Good Things. Marking their fourth studio album and building on their success as country-pop crossovers, the project will arrive on August 13.

Revealing the news Friday (July 16), Dan + Shay say the new set will feature 12 tracks in total — all produced by the duo’s Dan Smyers and featuring the sky-scraping vocal of Shay Mooney. Smyers is also credited as a songwriter on each of the 12 songs, and joined by hit making co-writers such as Shawn Mendes, Julia Michaels and the late Bill Withers, among others.


View this post on Instagram




A post shared by Dan + Shay (@danandshay)

Writing on Instagram, the duo noted the extra effort put into an album which will likely be given tons of attention, considering the massive crossover success of their self-titled previous project.

“We poured every bit of our hearts into this project and have never been more excited for anything in our entire lives,” they said. “Can’t wait for it to be yours so soon.”

Also aiming to give fans a glimpse into the album, the duo have shared the project’s title track, “Good Things.” Feeling like a stadium-sized piano-pop anthem with the duo’s now-patented mix of simple messaging and lush sonics, it features an upbeat groove, thick harmonies and synthesized hooks, as Smyers and Mooney sing of hoping their impact is positive. The track arrives alongside an official video, directed by Patrick Tracy.

Other tracks on Good Things will include their Grammy winning crossover, “10,000 Hours” (featuring Justin Bieber), which is four-times Platinum. The Platinum Number One, “I Should Probably Go To Bed,” is also featured, as well as the current radio single, the Gold-certified “Glad You Exist.” Those tracks all followed breakout hits like the six-times Platinum “Tequila,” and five-times Platinum “Speechless.”

In addition, the duo will also resume their postponed Dan + Shay The (Arena) Tour, headlining 30 dates across the country with The Band Camino and Ingrid Andress. The run gets underway September 9 in Greenville, South Carolina.


  1. Good Things (Dan Smyers, Ross Copperman, Jason Evigan, Ashley Gorley)^
  2. Steal My Love (Dan Smyers, Andy Albert, Ashley Gorley, Jordan Reynolds)
  3. You (Dan Smyers, Dave Barnes, Jordan Reynolds)*
  4. Body Language (Dan Smyers, Shay Mooney, Scott Harris, Shawn Mendes, Jordan Reynolds)*
  5. Give In To You (Dan Smyers, Julia Michaels, Jordan Reynolds)+
  6. Irresponsible (Dan Smyers, Shay Mooney, Julia Michaels, Jordan Reynolds)*
  7. Lying (Dan Smyers, Shay Mooney, Andy Albert, Jordan Reynolds, Bill Withers)
  8. One Direction (Dan Smyers, Shay Mooney, Andy Albert, Jordan Reynolds)
  9. Let Me Get Over Her (Dan Smyers, Shay Mooney, Andy Albert, Kyle Fishman, Jordan Schmidt, Brad Tursi)*
  10. Glad You Exist (Dan Smyers, Shay Mooney, Ryan Lewis, Tayla Parx, Jordan Reynolds)
  11. 10,000 Hours (with Justin Bieber) (Dan Smyers, Shay Mooney, Jessie Jo Dillon, Jordan Reynolds, Justin Bieber, Jason “Poo Bear” Boyd)
  12. I Should Probably Go To Bed (Dan Smyers, Shay Mooney, Sean Douglas, Jason Evigan)

All tracks produced by Dan Smyers
*Co-produced with Scott Hendricks
^Co-produced with Jason Evigan
+Co-produced with Jordan Reynolds