Granger Smith’s Alter-Ego, Earl Dibbles Jr., Pens New Book

Earl Dibbles Jr. will add author to his resume after penning a new comedic book, If You're City, If You're Country.

Written by Lauren Laffer
Granger Smith’s Alter-Ego, Earl Dibbles Jr., Pens New Book
Granger Smith performs at the Bud Light Stage at Bridgestone Arena Plaza on Thursday, June 5 during the 2014 CMA Music Festival in downtown Nashville. Photo courtesy of CMA

Add author to his resume because Earl Dibbles Jr. is about to release his very first book. The popular alter-ego for Granger Smith revealed plans for the paperback book, If You’re City, If You’re Country on Monday afternoon (7/16).

The illustrated story will compare city life with country life as narrated by Dibbles himself.

“This book has been several years in the making and I couldn’t be more excited to finally put the idea into fruition,” explained Granger of the book. “Writing these jokes as a creative outlet has been the product of so many late night, after show laughs with the band. Earl in his entire existence has been a walking caricature and finally seeing him in all his glory come to life in illustrations seems so natural. Ultimately, I hope it makes people smile and the thought of that makes me happy.”

Earl Dibbles Jr.

Earl Dibbles, Jr.’s If You’re City If You’re Country; Design Credit: Patrick Biederer

According to Amazon, the book will take readers through 50 different scenarios, comparing how those who live in the city do things differently from those in the country. Throughout the story, Dibbles shares his hilarious thoughts on fast food, huntin’, fishin’, shootin’ the breeze, neighborliness, and politics, among other topics.

In addition to the story, fans will get a copy of If You’re City, If You’re Country on CD, which features five if Dibbles biggest hits, “The Country Boy Song,” “Country Boy Love,” “City Boy Stuck,” “Merica,” and “Don’t Tread on Me.”

If You’re City, If You’re Country is set for release on August 21. Fans can pre-order the book, plus the five-song EP, on Amazon now.

If You’re City, If You’re Country EP track listing:
1) “The Country Boy Song”
2) “Country Boy Love”
3) “City Boy Stuck”
4) “’Merica”
5) “Don’t Tread On Me”
6) BONUS: “If You’re City, If You’re Country” (audio)