Back

Florida Georgia Line Takes ‘I Love My Country’ to Number One

Congrats to Tyler and B.K.

Written by Chris Parton
Florida Georgia Line Takes ‘I Love My Country’ to Number One
Florida Georgia Line; Photo credit: John Shearer

Superstar duo Florida Georgia Line are back on top of the charts, scoring their 17th career Number One with “I Love My Country.” Sitting at the peak of the Country Aircheck/Mediabase Country Airplay charts for the week of August 31, the success marks FGL’s first chart topper since 2018’s “Simple.”

“Feeling blessed to hear the news about #ILoveMyCountry!” the band wrote on Instagram. “Hopefully it’s been a small source of light during these crazy times!”

Duo member Brian Kelley adding, “Can’t wait for y’all to hear what’s next!”

The band opened up about the track in a recent feature for Esquire magazine, noting that “I Love My Country” “hits harder” than anything they’ve done since 2012’s “Round Here,” and was penned by a who’s who of talent from all over the musical spectrum. Big time country names like Kane Brown, Corey Crowder and Chase McGill were joined by up and comers Will Weatherly and Ernest Keith Smith, plus rap hit maker Charlie Handsome (Travis Scott, Kanye West).

“We’re just hyper creatives. And we’re always writing with great, young songwriters in town.” Kelley notes. “Worlds are colliding, from L.A. to New York to Nashville, even people from Europe hopping into co-writes. Especially with streaming, artists have an option to be a real global presence. So for us, it’s about how far can we push ourselves?”

“I Love My Country” is the lead single off FGL’s 6-Pack EP, and a lead in taste of their upcoming fifth studio album. The duo are currently hosting FGL House Party Radio with Florida Georgia Line every other Friday on Apple Music Country. Fans can tune in this Friday (9/4) at 4 p.m. PT / 6 p.m. CT / 7 p.m. ET for the next episode.