Gary Allan Shares Details on New Album, ‘Ruthless’

What song are you most excited to hear?

Gary Allan Shares Details on New Album, ‘Ruthless’
Gary Allan; Photo Credit: Eric Adkins

During a Facebook livestream from the House of Blues studio in Nashville, TN on Thursday night (5/6), Gary Allan announced that he has new music on the way. The singer will release his highly-anticipated new album, Ruthless, on June 25. The 13-song project will draw from Allan’s 80’s and 90’s country influences and storytelling abilities.

“This is a montage of everything I have done since my last album,” Allan says of Ruthless. “It’s what I love.  I remain influenced by the ‘90s — as well as by the ‘80s. Twenty-six tracks were cut for this album.  Then I went back to the studio and recorded three or four more tracks. Then I returned for two more. From each of these many sessions, I stripped out the cool stuff that I wanted on the record.”

Ruthless is available for pre-order now. Fans who pre-order will get an instant download of the album opener “Temptation.” Allan also has a selection of new merch options including t-shirts, hats, vinyls and more on his website

Ruthless Track Listing:

  1. Temptation (Written by Nicolle Galyon, Chase McGill and Jon Nite)
  2. Waste Of A Whiskey Drink (Written by Josh Kear, Michael Hardy and Mark Holman)
  3. Till It Felt Like You* (Written by Kyle Jacobs, Joe Leathers and Matt Warren)
  4. Slide (Written by Ross Ellis, Alex Kline and Michael Whitworth)
  5. Pretty Damn Close* (Written by Gary Allan, Sarah Buxton, Rodney Clawson and Matt Warren)
  6. High As I’ve Ever Been* (Written by Matt Warren, James Slater and Skip Black)
  7. What I Can’t Talk About* (Written by Jim Beavers, Lindsay Rimes and Matt Rogers)
  8. SEX (Written by Nicolle Galyon, Shane McAnally and Matt Jenkins)
  9. Trouble Knows Trouble (Written by Steve Bogard, Jason Sever and John Edwards)
  10. Ruthless (Written by Hillary Lindsey, busbee and Ryan Hurd)
  11. Unfiltered** (Written by Blair Daly, Brad Warren and Brett Warren)
  12. Little Glass Of Wine* (Written by Jesse Winchester)
  13. The Hard Way* (Written by Matt Warren and Carey Ott)

Produced by Mark Wright and Tony Brown
*Produced by Gary Allan and Greg Droman
**Produced by Jay Joyce