George Strait Announces New Album, Las Vegas Shows

Written by Lauren Laffer
George Strait Announces New Album, Las Vegas Shows
George Strait; Photo courtesy MCA Records Nashville

George Strait

The King of Country is back! Today (9/22), George Strait made an exciting announcement out of Las Vegas — he will be releasing a brand new album and has several Las Vegas shows planned.

Strait started teasing the news on Twitter earlier today…

The Texas native will have shows in Sin City at the new MGM Las Vegas Arena. Strait will be one of the first performers to perform in the arena, starting in April 2016. Kacey Musgraves is also slated to open for the superstar. Four shows will go on sale right away. The dates include: April 22, April 23, September 9 and September 10, 2016. Visit for more information.

Strait’s new album, Cold Beer Converstaion, is out September 25, exclusively through WalMart and Apple Music. The album was produced by Strait and Chuck Ainlay will feature 13 tracks, with songwriting credits going to Jamey Johnson, Brandy Clark, Bill Anderson, among others. Cold Beer Conversation is available for pre-order now.

“Cold Beer Conversation,” the title track and first single, hits country radio tomorrow.

“I said all along I wasn’t going to tour anymore, but I also said that I wasn’t retiring by any means and I still wanted to do some dates,” Strait said during a press conference. “I’ve been working a little bit here and there, and I’m really proud of this new album that’s coming out. . . I think it’s a great record – I always say this; I think it’s one of the best records I’ve done. I always shoot for that. You’ve got to go in the studio thinking that way, so I’m very excited about that and I’m also very excited to be coming back out and playing for the fans out there. I’m looking forward to it so much, singing those songs that I love so much and haven’t done in a while. I’m really, really looking forward to being able to play in the new Las Vegas Arena. I hear it’s just unbelievable. I can’t wait.”

Strait retired from touring back in 2014 with his The Cowboy Rides Away Tour. Although it was his final concert tour, the legendary artist revealed that he will continue to record new music for longtime label home MCA Records.

Are you excited about new music and shows from Strait? Join the conversation using #StraitToVegas!

The track listing for Cold Beer Conversation is as follows:
1. “It Was Love” (Keith Gattis)
2. “Cold Beer Conversation” (Al Anderson, Ben Hayslip and Jimmy Yeary)
3. “Let It Go” (George Strait, Bubba Strait and Keith Gattis)
4. “Goin’ Goin’ Gone” (Wyatt Earp and Keith Gattis)
5. “Something Going Down” (Jamey Johnson and Tom Shapiro)
6. “Take Me To Texas” (Brandy Clark and Shane McAnally)
7. “It Takes All Kinds” (George Strait, Bubba Strait, Bob Regan and Wil Nance)
8. “Stop And Drink” (Dale Dodson and Troy Jones)
9. “Everything I See” (George Strait, Bubba Strait, Dean Dillon and Keith Gattis)
10. “Rock Paper Scissors” (Casey Beathard, Monty Criswell and Bubba Strait)
11. “Wish You Well” (Clint Daniels, Jeff Hyde and Brice Long)
12. “Cheaper Than A Shrink” (Bill Anderson, Buddy Cannon and Jamey Johnson)
13. “Even When I Can’t Feel It” (Dean Dillon, Ben Hayslip and Lee Miller)