Jason Aldean Spills Details About ‘Rearview Town’

One of the album's highlights will come in the form of a duet with Miranda Lambert called "Drowns the Whiskey."

Written by Kelly Brickey
Jason Aldean Spills Details About ‘Rearview Town’
Jason Aldean; Photo Credit: Miller Mobley

For the next chapter in Jason Aldean’s career, the singer wanted to focus on the past that built him up to where he is now.

Aldean named the record, Rearview Town, to represent the past he was recognizing while enduring what’s next in the future. Featuring 15 original tracks written by friends like Tyler Hubbard, Brian Kelley and Morgan Wallen, the Georgia native gets serious while still rocking out in his signature style.

Specifically noting one of his favorite tracks off the project, which happens to be the title track, Aldean thought of no better way to represent the progress he’s made in country music and where he plans to go from here on out.

“It’s about putting things behind you…things that have held you down…and looking ahead,” Aldean explained about the title track of the album. “When you look at my career and the personal experiences I’ve gone through, it really seemed like a fitting title for this record and it’s one of the best songs I’ve ever recorded. It was important to me to pick songs that have substance to them, I’m more conscious of that these days.”

Another big moment on the record comes in the form of a duet with Miranda Lambert, which fans will hear on “Drowns the Whiskey.”

Rearview Town will release on Friday, April 13.

1. Dirt to Dust 
(Jaron Boyer, Ben Stennis, Michael Tyler)
2. Set It Off 
(Brandon Kinney, Jody Stevens, Josh Thompson)
3. Girl Like You
(Jaron Boyer, Josh Mirenda, Michael Tyler)
4. You Make It Easy 
(Tyler Hubbard, Brian Kelley, Jordan Schmidt, Morgan Wallen)
5. Gettin’ Warmed Up 
(Jaron Boyer, Josh Mirenda, Cole Taylor)
6. Blacktop Gone 
(Brett Beavers, Derric Ruttan, Josh Thompson)
7. Drowns the Whiskey (Feat. Miranda Lambert)
(Brandon Kinney, Jeff Middleton, Josh Thompson)
8. Rearview Town 
(Kelley Lovelace, Bobby Pinson, Neil Thrasher)
9. Love Me or Don’t
(Tyler Hubbard, Jordan Schmidt, Morgan Wallen)
10. Like You Were Mine 
(Kurt Allison, Jonathan Edwards, Tully Kennedy, Brian White)
11. Better at Being Who I Am 
(Casey Beathard, Wendall Mobley, Neil Thrasher)
12. I’ll Wait for You 
(Nick Brophy, Michael Delaney, Jennifer Hanson, Neil Thrasher)
13. Ride All Night
(Dallas Davidson, Kyle Fishman, Houston Phillips)
14. Up in Smoke 
(Jessi Alexander, David Lee Murphy, Chris Stevens)
15. High Noon Neon 
(Tony Martin, Lee Miller, Neil Thrasher)