Joe Nichols to Host 5th Annual ACM Honors

Joe Nichols to Host 5th Annual ACM Honors

The Academy of Country Music announced that country music superstar Joe Nichols will host the 5th Annual ACM Honors, an evening dedicated to recognizing the special honorees and off-camera category winners from the 46th Annual Academy of Country Music Awards. The event will take place on Monday, September 19, 2011 at the historic Ryman Auditorium in Nashville. Tickets will be made available via Ticketmaster soon, on-sale details will be announced next week.

This is Nichols’ first time hosting the event and the second time it will be held at the Ryman Auditorium, which will be recognized at the event as the reigning ACM Venue of the Year.

Those being honored include Special Award recipients Garth Brooks, John Dorris, Larry Gatlin & the Gatlin Brothers, Tom T. Hall, Reba, Taylor Swift and the film Country Strong. Hank Cochran will also be honored posthumously. The evening also recognizes winners of the MBI (musician, bandleader, instrumentalist) and Industry categories, which are not presented during the live telecast of the Academy of Country Music Awards.

Nichols is an ACM Award winner and one of country music’s most critically acclaimed artists. With four Grammy nominations and award wins from every major country awards show, he has racked up four #1 Singles and Eight Top 10 Singles, sold more than 2 million albums and recently had the second most-played song on country radio in 2010 according to Mediabase, with the three-week #1 smash “Gimmie That Girl.”

“Joe has the admiration of music fans worldwide because of his own straightforward, tradition respect for country music,” said Michelle Goble, Senior Vice President, Membership & Events with the Academy of Country Music. “His appreciation for the genre makes him a great fit for an evening paying tribute to those who have paved way—and those who work behind the scenes.”

“Hosting the ACM Honors is definitely a high point in my career,” Nichols said. “To share the stage with such an incredible array of talent is a distinction I don’t take lightly, and I am honored that the Academy of Country Music asked me to host the event.”

[rmore type=”more”]Click the MORE button to view a complete list of honorees…[/rmore]

The Academy of Country Music Special Awards are voted on by the ACM Board of Directors and are awarded during years that the Board of Directors feels there are clear and deserving candidates. Honorees include:

  • Garth Brooks – Cliffie Stone Pioneer Award
  • Hank Cochran (posthumously) – Poet’s Award
  • John Dorris – Mae Boren Axton Award
  • Larry Gatlin & the Gatlin Brothers – Cliffie Stone Pioneer Award
  • Tom T. Hall – Poet’s Award
  • Reba – Career Achievement Award
  • Taylor Swift – Jim Reeves International Award
  • Country Strong – Tex Ritter Award

The winners of the MBI awards are voted based on Academy of Country Music ballots by members classified in the Artist-Entertainer-MBI and the Producer-Engineer-Studio Manager categories. Honorees include:

  • Chuck Ainlay – Audio Engineer of the Year
  • Eddie Bayers – Percussionist/Drummer of the Year
  • Tom Bukovac – Guitarist of the Year
  • Dan Dugmore – Steel Guitar Player of the Year
  • Aubrey Haynie – Fiddle Player of the Year
  • Gordon Mote – Piano/Keyboard Player of the Year
  • Bryan Sutton – Specialty Instrument(s) Player of the Year
  • Glenn Worf – Bass Player of the Year
  • Paul Worley – Producer of the Year

Winners of the Industry Awards categories are voted on by the membership of the Academy of Country Music. Honorees include:

  • Steve “Bogie” Bogdanovich – Romeo Entertainment Group – Don Romeo Talent Buyer of the Year
  • Sally Williams, Ryman Auditorium – Promoter of the Year
  • Joe’s Bar (Chicago, IL) – Nightclub of the Year
  • Mohegan Sun Casino (Uncasville, CT) – Casino of the Year
  • Ryman Auditorium (Nashville, TN) – Venue of the Year