Josh Turner’s New Album, ‘I Serve A Savior’ Has Been a ‘God-Ordained Blessing’

Josh Turner is well-tuned into his faith and decided to record a gospel-based album called 'I Serve A Savior,' set for release Oct. 26.

Written by Lauren Laffer
Josh Turner’s New Album, ‘I Serve A Savior’ Has Been a ‘God-Ordained Blessing’
Josh Turner; Cover art courtesy of MCA Nashville

Faith has long been a part of Josh Turner’s life and will now be put to the forefront of his upcoming album, I Serve A Savior. Set for release on October 26, the 12-song faith-based record will include hymns, original songs, and re-recordings of Turner’s past hits, including “Me and God” and “Long Black Train.”

“My faith is the most important thing to me,” said Turner in a press release. “I want people to hear the sentiment and heart behind this record. I want them to feel the same inspiration that I felt. I want them to feel that and hopefully they’ll make these songs a part of their life.”

“Working on this project has definitely been a God-ordained blessing. I never would have thought I’d be doing this record this year, but God opened a door and I walked through it,” he continued. “I’ve seen many seemingly impossible things take place during the making of this record and I’ve felt God’s anointing over it.”

For I Serve A Savior, Turner enlisted the help of those closest to him, his family, to write a new song. For “The River (of Happiness),” Turner’s wife Jennifer and eldest son Hampton helped write the track. They also sing on the song, with Turner’s three other boys.

In addition to the album, Turner will release a 90-minute live performance DVD of the collection. Filmed at Gaither Studios, the film will include an interview with Turner and gospel legend Bill Gaither. Fans can watch the DVD as it’s transformed into a one-hour television special this fall.

I Serve A Savior is available for pre-order now.

I Serve A Savior Track Listing:
1. I Saw The Light (Featuring Sonya Isaacs)
2. I Pray My Way Out Of Trouble (Featuring Bobby Osborne)
3. Great Is Your Faithfulness
4. Swing Low, Sweet Chariot
5. Without Him
6. I Serve A Savior
7. How Great Thou Art (Featuring Sonya Isaacs)
8. The River (of Happiness) Featuring the Turner family (Live From Gaither Studios)
9. Amazing Grace
10. Long Black Train (Live From Gaither Studios)
11. Doxology
12. Me And God (Live From Gaither Studios)