Kacey Musgraves Sends ‘Butterflies’ and ‘Space Cowboy’ to Fans

The singer really comes into her own on both tracks, which were inspired by her loving muse and husband, Ruston Kelly.

Written by Kelly Brickey
Kacey Musgraves Sends ‘Butterflies’ and ‘Space Cowboy’ to Fans
Kacey Musgraves; Photo credit: Kelly Sutton

She’s gone down the traditional country route and played with the quirky subject matter, but Kacey Musgraves let love be her muse in her latest releases, “Butterflies” and “Space Cowboy.”

Opting for a more psychedelic and chilled-out sound compared to her sassy spirit, Musgraves embodies the metamorphosis of a girl in love on “Butterflies.” Allowing for her relationship to transform her into a happier human being, she sheds her skin from the realist she once set her mind on to the beautiful voice she’s been striving to find.

The singer’s voice drifts through the wind ever so delicately on “Butterflies,” with the banjo and piano combination floating her through the melody. Dedicating the track to her husband, Ruston Kelly, it’s clear that Musgraves let the romance fly and she’s along for the ride.


On the contrary, Musgraves reflects on the distance between her old life and the new one she’s found with Kelly on “Space Cowboy.” More of a nod to her previous records, Musgraves feels sadness in a far away notion but doesn’t let it get to her as she sets herself apart from the sorrow.

“It’s a look into where I’ve been, and where I am now. I like that it’s very sparse. And it’s just about making peace with a door closing in your life. I feel like everyone can relate to that. When you’re just like, ‘I don’t understand this. It hurts right now.’ But it allows something better to come in,” Musgraves explained to CMT.


These two songs lead the way for her upcoming project, Golden Hour, which will feature all new songs from the singer. Finding inspiration from her current relationship status change to missing her mom, Musgraves will definitely not lose her edge as the honest songwriter she’s always been.

Musgraves’ next album, Golden Hour, will arrive on March 30. Fans can pre-order the album now by clicking HERE.

Golden Hour Track Listing

  1. Slow Burn
  2. Lonely Weekend
  3. Butterflies
  4. Oh, What a World
  5. Mother
  6. Love Is a Wild Thing
  7. Space Cowboy
  8. Happy & Sad
  9. Velvet Elvis
  10. Wonder Woman
  11. High Horse
  12. Golden Hour
  13. Rainbow