Kelly Clarkson, Carrie Underwood to Return to American Idol Finale

Clarkson won in the inaugural season in 2002 and Underwood won in 2005.

Written by Lauren Laffer
Kelly Clarkson, Carrie Underwood to Return to American Idol Finale

American Idol is going out with a BANG!

The epic series finale will feature performances from some of its biggest winners, including Carrie UnderwoodKelly Clarkson and Scotty McCreery.

The superstars will return to where it all began on the live two-night finale, FOX has announced. Clarkson won in the inaugural season in 2002, Underwood won in 2005 and McCreery in 2011.

Thursday’s send-off will also feature group and solo performances from other former Idols including Ruben Studdard, Fantasia, Taylor Hicks, Jordin Sparks, David Cook, Kris Allen, Lee DeWyze, Candice Glover, Caleb Johnson, Nick Fradiani, Ace Young, Allison Iraheta, Amber Holcomb, Blake Lewis, Bo Bice, Brandon Rogers, Bucky Covington, Carly Smithson, Casey James, Chris Daughtry, Clark Beckham, Clay Aiken, Colton Dixon, Constantine Maroulis, Danny Gokey, Diana DeGarmo, Elliott Yamin, George Huff, James Durbin, Jessica Sanchez,  Josh Gracin, Joshua Ledet, Justin Guarini, Katharine McPhee, Kellie Pickler, Kimberley Locke, Kree Harrison, LaToya London, Lauren Alaina, Melinda Doolittle, Pia Toscano, Sanjaya, Skylar Laine, and Tamyra Gray.

The finale will air April 6 from 8 p.m. to 9 p.m. ET/PT and April 7 from 8 p.m. to 10:06 p.m. ET/PT, live from the Dolby Theatre in Hollywood.