Kelsea Ballerini Drops New Track ‘hole in the bottle,’ Album Details

Check out the star-studded track list to 'kelsea.'

Written by Chris Parton
Kelsea Ballerini Drops New Track ‘hole in the bottle,’ Album Details
NEW YORK, NEW YORK - FEBRUARY 14: Kelsea Ballerini visits Music Choice at Music Choice on February 14, 2020 in New York City. (Photo by Jamie McCarthy/Getty Images)

Kelsea Ballerini uncorks a blast of twangy, honky-tonk pop in the new track “hole in the bottle,” offering fans another taste of her upcoming third album today (February 28).

Part of her soon-to-arrive kelsea album (out March 20), the boozy track pairs a bouncy, modern beat with a pure-country theme, as Ballerini sips away the memory of a lost love in upbeat style.

“There’s a hole in the bottle / Leakin’ all this wine / It’s already empty and it ain’t even suppertime / Honey no I don’t miss him / In fact, it slipped my mind / There’s a hole in the bottle of wine,” goes the winking chorus.

Meanwhile, Ballerini has also revealed the new album’s full track list, including all-star collaborations with Halsey and Kenny Chesney. Posting on Instagram, the rising star explained “the other girl” with Halsey is a “proper duet,” while “half of my hometown” features Chesney on harmony vocals. She opened up further about what to expect during a game of “Song Association” for Elle magazine.

“I’ve never done a self titled album before, and I think kelsea feels personal when you don’t add in the last name,” she said. “So the album is that, it’s been a really self-discovery kind of few years while I’ve been writing the album and all the songs are different things I’ve learned over the last few years, whether it’s different perspectives of love as I’ve been settling into marriage, or really introspective stuff like ‘homecoming queen?’ — my single which I think is probably the most vulnerable song on the album. It talks about touring a lot and the dark and the lights of that — like the song ‘la’ and missing my hometown like ‘half my hometown.’ There’s just a lot of different shades of who I’ve grown up to be right now on it. So it’s called kelsea because it’s me.”

In related news, Ballerini was also honored with an ACM Awards nomination for Female Artist of the Year yesterday (February 27). Here’s the complete tracklist for her third album, kelsea.

  1. overshare
  2. club
  3. homecoming queen?
  4. the other girl (with Halsey)
  5. love me like a girl
  6. love and hate
  7. bragger
  8. hole in the bottle
  9. half of my hometown (feat. Kenny Chesney)
  10. the way I used to
  11. needy
  12. a country song
  13. la