Kenny Chesney’s Touring Family Wins Big At The CMA SRO Awards

Written by SLN Staff Writer
Kenny Chesney’s Touring Family Wins Big At The CMA SRO Awards

Four time CMA Entertainer of the Year (and nominee this year) Kenny Chesney and team work hard to take the music to the fans all across the country. That hard work was recognized Tuesday night by the music industry at the CMA 2012 SRO Awards as six members of team Chesney took home awards.

“I have never been more proud of my road family,” said Chesney. “I’ve always believed that I worked with the best and tonight just makes me so proud that the industry recognizes their hard work, how much fun we have, and all the tireless efforts that goes into bringing the best show we can to the fans every summer!”

The winners include:

Coach/Truck Driver of the Year: John Stalder (Kenny Chesney)

Production Manager of the Year: Ed Wannebo (Kenny Chesney)

Talent Agent of the Year: Mike Betterton (Dale Morris & Associates, Inc.)

Tour Manager of the Year: David Farmer (Kenny Chesney)

Touring Musician of the Year: Nick Hoffman (Kenny Chesney)

Video Director of the Year: Shaun Silva (Tacklebox Films)

Other CMA SRO Awards 2012 winners are as follows (in alphabetical order by category):

Business Manager of the Year: Mary Ann McCready (Flood, Bumstead, McCready & McCarthy, Inc.)

FOH (Front of House) Engineer: John McBride (Martina McBride)

Lighting Director of the Year: Aaron Swetland (Jason Aldean)

Manager of the Year: Clarence Spalding (Spalding Entertainment)

Monitor Engineer of the Year: Robert Bull (Clair Bros. Audio Entertainment, Inc.)

Publicist of the Year: Mary Hilliard Harrington (The Green Room PR)

Tour Caterer of the Year: TomKats Catering

Venue of the Year: Ryman Auditorium (Nashville, Tenn.)

The SRO Awards were originally created by the CMA Board of Directors in 1990 to honor outstanding professional achievement within the touring industry.

The first SRO Awards were presented at a black tie gala, hosted by K.T. Oslin and Roger Miller, during CMA’s Entertainment Expo, which was also known as the Talent Buyers Entertainment Marketplace. Ten SRO Awards were presented at the first gala and the number of awards swelled to 19 before the last were handed out at SRO ’97. Last year, the Touring Musician of the Year Award was once again presented, with 13 additional categories returning this year. Finalists were announced in May.

Photo By: John Russell / CMA
(Back row l-r): Touring Musician of the Year winner Nick Hoffman; Video Director of the Year Shaun Silva; CMA Board Chairman Gary Overton; Business Manager of the Year winner Mary Ann McCready; CMA Chief Executive Officer Steve Moore; Coach/Truck Driver of the Year winner John Stalder; and Robin Majors accepting on behalf of Production Manager of the Year winner Ed Wannebo.
(Front row l-r) Tour Manager of the Year David Farmer; Publicist of the Year winner Mary Hilliard Harrington; Martina McBride accepting on behalf of Front of House Engineer of the Year winner John McBride; Monitor Engineer of the Year winner Robert Bull; and Tom Morales accepting on behalf of Tour Caterer of the Year winner TomKats Catering.