Review: David Nail “I’m About To Come Alive”

Written by SLN Staff Writer
Review: David Nail “I’m About To Come Alive”


David Nail released his debut album, I’m About To Come Alive on Tuesday, August 18. I was really excited for the album because I absolutely love Nail’s latest single, “Red Light.” (It’s on repeat all the time!) I must admit, the album is much different than what I was expecting.

After listening to the album in it’s entirety a few times through, I ‘ve come a a few conclusions…

Nail has his own unique sound. The songs on the album are very soulful, which sets him apart from a lot of artists in Nashville. If I had to compare, I’d say he sounds like a mix between Rascal Flatts and James Otto.

He knows what he’s doing. Nail got help from some big names in the industry on this album. Rascal Flatts’ Gary LeVox co-wrote “Summer Job Days,” Kenny Chesney co-wrote, “Turning Home,” and Miranda Lambert lends her pipes to “Strangers On A Train.” Having big name artists contribute to the album was a smart move on Nail’s part. These three tracks are three of my favorite on the album.

He takes us on a journey….There’s a reason why Nail starts the album with “Mississippi” and ends with “Missouri.” The album starts off slow and builds up with each song. (And I don’t think it’s a coincidence that the album’s cover is staged in a subway!)

When I first heard the album I felt like it was missing something… missing a few fun, uptempo songs, but after re-listening, I’ve decided that it’s fine just the way it is. I’m About To Come Alive may not have include any fun, rockin’ party songs, but it’s good in it’s own way. I’ve decided that’s just not Nail’s style.

Overall, the album is a good, easy listen- It’s definitely worth your purchase.

Favorite tracks: “I’m About To Come Alive,” “Red Light,” “Summer Job Days,” “Strangers On A Train”

Track Listing:

1. “Mississippi”
2. “I’m About To Come Alive”
3. “Red Light”
4. “Again”
5. “Clouds”
6. “Summer Job Days”
7. “Strangers On A Train” (featuring Miranda Lambert)
8. “Looking For A Good Time”
9. “This Time Around”
10. “Turning Home”
11. “Missouri”