Rhett Akins Named ACM Awards Songwriter of the Year

What an incredible honor!

Written by Sydney Smith
Rhett Akins Named ACM Awards Songwriter of the Year
LAS VEGAS, NV - APRIL 13: Rhett Akins attends ACM Stories, Songs & Stars: A Songwriter's Event Benefiting ACM Lifting Lives at The Joint inside the Hard Rock Hotel & Casino on April 13, 2018 in Las Vegas, Nevada. (Photo by Matt Winkelmeyer/Getty Images for ACM)

Songwriter Rhett Akins was named ACM Songwriter of the Year on Friday evening (April 13) during the ACM Stories, Songs & Stars event at The Joint, Hard Rock Hotel & Casino in Las Vegas. The Georgia native was presented the honor by reigning Songwriter of the Year Lori McKenna.

Akins has co-written songs for artists including Luke Bryan, Brooks & Dunn, Blake Shelton, Billy Currington, Thomas Rhett, Josh Turner, Jason Aldean, Dustin Lynch and many others. In addition to writing songs for other artists, Rhett recorded and released his own music, with songs including “That Ain’t My Truck” and “Don’t Get Me Started,” among others.

Akins was nominate for Songwriter of the Year alongside Ashley Gorley, Hillary Lindsey, Shane McAnally and Josh Osborne.

Preceding the awards announcement, Akins, along with his fellow songwriters, took part in the ACM Stories, Songs & Stars event, sharing the stories behind their collective array of hits. Joining the songwriters for an intimate night of music were the artists that have recorded those hits, Little Big Town, Thomas Rhett, Lee Brice, Midland, and Cole Swindell, with Cam, Kip Moore and songwriter Liz Rose joining as surprise guests.

The 53rd Annual ACM Awards are hosted by Reba, and will air live from the MGM Grand Garden Arena in Las Vegas.

Want to listen to the winners and nominees from tonight’s ceremony? Be sure to check out our ACM Awards playlist below and CLICK to subscribe!