Tayla Lynn to Release Tribute Album to Grandmother Loretta Lynn

Her 13-song album covers Loretta's greatest hits.

Written by Chris Parton
Tayla Lynn to Release Tribute Album to Grandmother Loretta Lynn
Tayla Lynn; Photo credit: Tre Twitty

Country singer Tayla Lynn aims to celebrate her family legacy with a new tribute album, covering the Hall of Fame career of her grandmother, Loretta Lynn.

Announcing her first solo project, Tayla Lynn Sings Loretta Lynn, the third-generation artist has revealed a project that highlights her grandmother’s iconic work.

The album features Tayla singing 13 of her favorite Loretta Lynn hits, including classics like “You Ain’t Woman Enough,” “Fist City” and “The Pill.” Out now after a soft release in June, Tayla says she learned at the feet of her country-legend grandmother, and the album will also feature a “Coal Miner’s Daughter” duet with her aunt, Patsy Lynn Russell, and a special greeting by Loretta Lynn herself.

“I love working and writing with Memaw,” Tayla Lynn gushes about her grandmother. “Early in my career, she took me out on the road for a year and taught me how to walk the stage, sing a sad song, be funny and treat the audience like you are in their living room.”

Tayla was previously a member of the trio Stealing Angels (with Caroline Cutbirth and Jennifer Wayne), and she recently opened up to People about a long battle with addiction.

Meanwhile, the legacy artist is also working with another member of one of country’s royal families, as she teams with Tre Twitty (who is the grandson of Conway Twitty). Loretta and Conway had a long string of hit duets, and now the young artists have teamed up to tour together, while a joint album and podcast are in the works. 

Tayla Lynn Sings Loretta Lynn Track Listing

  1. You Ain’t Woman Enough
  2. Somebody Somewhere
  3. Black Eyed Peas and Blue Eyes
  4. Babies
  5. Here I Am Again
  6. Fist City
  7. Sweet Thang (featuring Tony Booth)
  8. God Bless The Children
  9. Old Rooster
  10. The Pill
  11. Wings Upon Your Horns
  12. It Wasn’t God Who Made Honky Tonk Angels (featuring Loretta Lynn)
  13. Coal Miner’s Daughter (featuring Patsy Lynn)
  14. Everybody Wants To Go To Heaven Who Says God Is Dead
  15. Greetings from Loretta