The Highwomen, John Prine Win 2020 Americana Awards

See the full list of winners below...

Written by Lauren Laffer
The Highwomen, John Prine Win 2020 Americana Awards
The Highwomen; Photo credit: Alysse Gafkjen

The Highwomen are the top winners from the 2020 Americana Honors & Awards, winning three awards from the annual celebration. Comprised of Brandi Carlile, Natalie Hemby, Maren Morris and Amanda Shires, the band claimed the title for Album of the Year with their breakout, self-titled project, as well as Song of the Year with “Crowded Table” and Duo/Group of the Year.

Additionally, the late John Prine was named Artist of the Year. Prine passed away in April at the age of 73 from complications due to COVID-19. He had been hospitalized for several weeks before his passing. The win marks his fourth in the category since 2005.

“I could not be more proud of this slate of winners,” shared Jed Hilly, Executive Director of the Americana Music Association. “Although we terribly miss celebrating together at the Ryman as we usually have in years past, we’re thrilled to still be able to recognize these distinguished members of our community.”

This year’s celebration was canceled due to the ongoing coronavirus pandemic. Originally scheduled for September 16, the Americana Music Association ultimately decided to forego the in-person ceremony at The Ryman to keep everyone safe.

“We’ve carefully evaluated safety measures both with an audience and without. It is our conclusion that if just one person walked out of the Ryman with COVID-19, we would not be able to forgive ourselves,” Hilly said in a letter to AMA members. “We are making new plans to celebrate the nominees and to proclaim the winners later this fall, and we hope to have details on that shortly with an official announcement date soon.”

2020 Americana Honors & Awards Winners:

Album of the Year: “The Highwomen,” The Highwomen, produced by Dave Cobb

Artist of the Year: John Prine

Song of the Year: “Crowded Table,” The Highwomen, written by Brandi Carlile, Natalie Hemby and Lori McKenna

Duo/Group of the Year: The Highwomen

Emerging Act of the Year: Black Pumas

Instrumentalist of the Year: Brittany Haas