Toby Keith Announces New Album, ‘Peso In My Pocket’

Ten new tracks arrive October 15!

Written by Chris Parton
Toby Keith Announces New Album, ‘Peso In My Pocket’
Toby Keith; Photo credit: Richard McLaren

Longtime country hit maker Toby Keith is set to return with a brand new album this fall, announcing his first all-new studio project in more than five years. The enduring star will release Peso In My Pocket on October 15.

Co-produced by Keith with Kenny Greenberg and marking the follow up to 2015’s 35 MPH Town, Peso In My Pocket arrives like much of the new country music currently rolling out — the result of an unexpected break from the road in 2020.


View this post on Instagram



A post shared by Toby Keith (@tobykeith)

In official annoucement, Keith says he never would have stopped touring if he wasn’t forced to, but it ultimately led to a fruitful time of creativity. Keith spent the beginning of the pandemic at a vacation home in Mexico, and got to work writing.

“It was like being on the moon,” he says. “A lot of my friends down there were afraid they wouldn’t be let back in the U.S., so they all went home. I wasn’t on the road and nobody could go anywhere, so I thought, ‘You’ve written a long list of songs by yourself, dumbass. Get up and get busy!’ I went through the ideas I keep on my phone and thought, ‘S***, I need to write these.'”

As a result, the album’s 10 tracks include songs written solely by Keith, as well as co-writes with former Van Halen front man Sammy Hagar. Outside cuts are supplied courtesy of The Warren Brothers, Ryan Hurd, Maren Morris, Jessie Jo Dillon, and more, plus in-studio collaborations feature Keb’ Mo’ and Michael Hosty.

Meanwhile, the album’s first single, “Old School,” is reportedly a career best for Toby Keith, marking his highest debuting single on Billboard’s Country Airplay radio chart.

Looking ahead, Toby Keith will resume touring on his Country Comes To Town Tour June 20 in Prescott, Arizona. Earlier this year he accepted the National Medal of Arts and in August will be given the Academy of Country Music’s Merle Haggard Spirit Award. Then in November, he’ll become a member of the Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame.

Peso In My Pocket track listing (songwriter credit):

  1. Oklahoma Breakdown (Michael Hosty)
  2. Peso In My Pocket (Toby Keith)
  3. Old School (Ryan Hurd, Maren Morris, Brett Tyler)
  4. Old Me Better (Kevin R. Moore, John Lewis Parker)
  5. Days I Shoulda Died (Brad Warren, Brett Warren, Jessie Jo Dillon)
  6. Growing Up Is A Bitch (Toby Keith, Sammy Hagar)
  7. She’s Drinkin’ Again (Toby Keith)
  8. Thunderbird (Toby Keith)
  9. Take A Look At My Heart (John Mellencamp, John Prine)
  10. Happy Birthday America (Toby Keith)