Walker Hayes Readies New Music With ‘Country Stuff’ EP

Here's your first look at all of the exclusive details! 

Walker Hayes Readies New Music With ‘Country Stuff’ EP
Walker Hayes; Photo credit: Robert Chavers

Walker Hayes is a master of creating and he’s put his hard work in a brand new six-song EP. Sharing the news exclusively with Sounds Like Nashville today (5/6), Hayes is set to release his highly anticipated new project, Country Stuff, on June 4.

“Country Stuff is a body of work that means a lot to me, because it shows all of who I am. I’m not in the same mood or headspace every day – some days it’s all about fun, some days are harder – but I think it’s ok to share all of that, and that’s what I hope Country Stuff does,” he tells Sounds Like Nashville.

Walker Hayes; Cover art courtesy of Monument Records

On the EP, Hayes opens up his music to not only his dedicated legions of fans, but also some of his peers, with Carly Pearce, Lori McKenna, and Jake Owen jumping on as collaborators, the latter of which will debut Friday (5/7).

“In my career, I haven’t collaborated with other artists the way I am on Country Stuff, which is so exciting to me. To have Jake Owen, Carly Pearce, and Lori McKenna on this EP just blows my mind,” he explains with excitement. “On the song ‘Country Stuff,’ having Jake is really a full circle moment. When I got my first publishing deal, he was one of the first artists to put a hold on one of my songs. That moment meant so much to me, and gave me such encouragement and hope that I was doing the right things.”

Hayes has given a preview with the songs “I Hope You Miss Me” and “Make You Cry.” The first is a song he wrote after a conversation with one of his daughters, knowing that one day she’ll leave the nest and be on to her next big adventure. The love he has for his family carried over into “Make You Cry,” a song dedicated to his wife and the sweet things he does that makes her eyes well up with happy tears. The Alabama native has also been finding inspiration in working with other artists including Nikita Karmen and sister-duo Tigirlily.

Pre-order for Country Stuff is available right here.

Track Listing:
Country Stuff (Featuring Jake Owen)
Fancy Like
Make You Cry
I Hope You Miss Me
What If We Did (Featuring Carly Pearce)
Briefcase (Featuring Lori McKenna)