Walker Hayes Donates $10,000 to Hope International

Check out the details behind his new '8Tracks Vol. 3 – Black Sheep.'

Written by Chris Parton
Walker Hayes Donates $10,000 to Hope International
L-R: Walker Hayes, Craig Cooper, Laura Cooper (HOPE International), Kristin Vinton (HOPE International); Photo Credit: Robert Chavers

Country riser Walker Hayes continued his tradition of giving back this holiday season, raising money for charity through his Be A Craig Fund — and dropping some new music as well.

Last week, the genre-blending hit maker hosted a concert as Nashville’s Listening Room venue, and along with all the proceeds from the show donated a cool $10,000 to Hope International — an organization that offers services and loans to communities in need, seeking to restore dignity and break the cycle of poverty.

Hayes has been involved in the mission ever since the release of his heartwarming fan favorite, “Craig,” which he wrote in dedication to a kind-hearted stranger who gave Hayes’ bursting-at-the-seams family a new minivan. With six kids to care for and a career that was still in its early stages, Hayes and his wife, Laney, had been getting by with a too-small car, so Craig stepped up to make sure the family could get around safely. Find more information at Hayes’ Be A Craig Fund website.

Meanwhile, Hayes has also surprised fans with the release of a new recording project, sharing 8Tracks Vol. 3 – Black Sheep. Filled with another blast of unfiltered tracks that didn’t make it onto an album (plus an acoustic version of the single, “Don’t Let Her”), the vocal acrobat says it’s one of the best ways to get to know the real “him.”

“I’m so grateful for the opportunity to release music this raw,” Hayes explains. “I’m not really a fan of something that is too polished, so releasing these 8Tracks has always been important to me. To be on my third one now feels really good, and I’m hopeful people will love these songs and have come to expect this type of music from me that is so personal.”

Walker Hayes’ 8Tracks Vol. 3 – Black Sheep Track Listing:
1. Black Sheep
2. Love Hate
3. Dad’s Sailboat
4. Chapel
5. Goldest
6. Wish I Could Drink
7. Acceptance Speech
8. Don’t Let Her (stripped down recording)