‘Zac Brown Band: The Grohl Sessions Vol. 1′ Due December 10

Written by SLN Staff Writer
‘Zac Brown Band: The Grohl Sessions Vol. 1′ Due December 10

Zac Brown Band, Dave Grohl

On December 10, 2013, Zac Brown Band will release The Grohl Sessions Vol. 1 on Zac’s own Southern Ground Artists label via iTunes.

The Grohl Sessions Vol. 1 features the first studio recording of “Day for the Dead,” ­ the song which the band performed with Grohl on this year’s CMAs and has since earned praise as a “knockout” (AJC), that “rocked” (Vulture) and that “showcases some instrumental adventurousness that flirts with the ominous” (OC Register). Other songs on the release include “The Muse,” a song written by The Wood Brothers who are also signed to Southern Ground Artists, “All Alright,” and “Let It Rain.”

Zac Brown Band

“Dave is a musical genius,” said ZBB frontman Zac Brown. “It’s been amazing to play with him on stage and get to spend time working with him in the studio. We are excited for fans to hear the music we’ve been able to create together.”

The new release marks Zac Brown Band’s first collection of songs recorded at the Southern Ground Studios in Nashville. In addition to the traditional Zac Brown Band lineup of Zac Brown, John Driskell Hopkins, Jimmy De Martini, Coy Bowles, Chris Fryar, Clay Cook and Daniel de los Reyes, the recordings also feature guest performances by Oteill Burbridge on bass and Grohl on drums.

Take a peek inside at the making of The Grohl Sessions Vol. 1 below…