Mitchell Tenpenny Celebrates The Holidays With New EP, ‘Neon Christmas’

Celebrate the holidays with a twang, courtesy of Mitchell Tenpenny!

Written by Jeremy Chua
Mitchell Tenpenny Celebrates The Holidays With New EP, ‘Neon Christmas’
Mitchell Tenpenny; Photo credit: Matthew Berinato

“Drunk Me” singer Mitchell Tenpenny is celebrating the holidays earlier this year with a collection of Christmas songs titled, Neon Christmas.

The seven-track EP features brand-new songs “Snow Angels” and the title track, as well as holidays mainstays such as “Joy to the World,” “O Holy Night” and Tenpenny’s personal favorite, “Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas.”

“That’s always been one of my favorite songs,” the singer says of “Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas.” “It just makes me feel like sitting in front of a fire or watching an old Christmas movie at my family’s house. I knew I could take and make that song more of my own too, which can be hard with Christmas songs.”

The Neon Christmas EP follows previously released songs “Broken Up,” “Someone You Loved,” “Here,” “Can’t Go to Church” and “Anything She Says,” a collaboration with rising country duo Seaforth.

Additionally, on October 10, Tenpenny hosted a live streaming concert and two sold-out, in-person shows at Nashville’s Listening Room to raise money for his 10Penny Fund. The events raised $23,895.47 including a $10,000 match from Sarah Cannon, the Cancer Institute of HCA Healthcare, his partner in the 10Penny Fund, and a $2,000 donation from Sony Music Nashville label mate and friend, Chris Young.

Neon Christmas Track Listing:
1. O Holy Night
2. Let It Snow, Let It Snow, Let It Snow
3. Snow Angels – written by Mitchell Tenpenny, Ernest Keith Smith, Rafe Tenpenny
4. Neon Christmas – written by Tenpenny, Lindsay Rimes, Matt Rogers 
5. Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas
6. Joy To The World
7. The Naughty List – written by Mitchell Tenpenny, Andy Albert, Jordan Schmidt