Reba to be Named ‘Artist of a Lifetime’ at CMT Artists of the Year Event

Show airs live October 16 at 8 p.m. ET.

Written by Chris Parton
Reba to be Named ‘Artist of a Lifetime’ at CMT Artists of the Year Event
Reba McEntire; Photo credit: Robby Klein

Country icon Reba McEntire can add another title to her illustrious list of achievements next month. She’ll receive the “Artist of a Lifetime” award presented by Ram Trucks at the 2019 CMT Artists of the Year event.

Set to air live from Nashville’s Schermerhorn Symphony Center on October 16, this year’s Artists of the Year special will mark the event’s 10th anniversary. With such a milestone to celebrate, it’s only fitting the network chose to highlight one of the genre’s most enduring stars.

“I have loved entertaining people since I was a little girl and after being in the music business more than 40 years, I’m still having so much fun!” McEntire says in a statement. “For CMT to recognize me as the ‘Artist of A Lifetime’ is pretty special.”

It’s actually McEntire’s career that has been special. With 35 No.1 singles and over 56 million albums sold worldwide, she is a member of both the Grand Ole Opry and the Country Music Hall of Fame, and has won dozens of awards including 16 ACM trophies, three Grammys and recognition for her “indelible impact” on American culture at the 2018 Kennedy Center Honors. A force of traditional influence as the genre rapidly evolved through the 1980s and beyond, she is also a successful actress and entrepreneur, and continues to stand at country’s forefront today. In fact, McEntire will join Dolly Parton and Carrie Underwood to host the 53rd annual CMA Awards, airing November 13 on ABC.

Aside from honoring McEntire, this year’s hour-and-a-half long CMT Artists of the Year event will pay tribute to the five “Artists of the Year” who collectively ruled the last 12 months in country music. This year’s honorees include Underwood, Dan + Shay, Kane Brown, Luke Combs and Thomas Rhett, and will feature surprise musical pairings and guests.

Previous “Artist of a Lifetime” recipients include Loretta Lynn (2018), Shania Twain (2016), Kenny Rogers (2015), and Merle Haggard (2014). The 2019 CMT Artists of the Year special airs live on Wednesday, October 16, at 8 p.m. ET.